Rooted Droid 1, now wants to constantly update

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by siggy_freud, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,

    I rooted my Droid 1 using the standard method (I think the "Root ANY Version" commonly found here). I did this to both my dad and I's Droid 1 to allow tethering for our Xooms. Now every few days it says there is a system update to install. We were (as far as I know) on the latest and greatest software version before the root, so not sure why it keeps asking to update. I rooted them about 2 weeks ago and wasn't getting any system update requests before then. When I say "go ahead" it blocks the update and restarts. I've tried changing the file name of update.zip thinking it might be seeing that and thinking it's a new version, but it hasn't worked.

    Any advice? Is there a real OTA update that I am unaware of?
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    We need to know your version number. The latest is 2.2.2
     
  3. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doh. 2.2.1. Ok now I need to unroot and update?
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You should be able to allow it in recovery (do you have sprecovery?) and then install.

    When you reboot you will be updated and unrooted (you may still have the SU app but it won't work) then reroot.
     
  5. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I believe I have sprecovery. Guess I just need to allow update?
     
  6. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    yes, allow update.zip then install (or apply?) update.zip
     
  7. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The update.zip on there is the one I put on for root though. Not really sure what it would do . . .
     
  8. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    it won't work. you need to take that off or rename it.
     
  9. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did rename it when I thought that was the issue. Now I tell it to allow update.zip, and click install, and it says it cannot be found.
     
  10. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Ok, well you may have overwritten the file originally.

    You will have to wait for the update, or install the stock rooted ROM in Gimpsource Project section, MetiCkOne section, or from www.peteralfonso.com

    This would be the easiest way since you are already rooted.

    (make a backup first, since you will probably have to wipe)
     
  11. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the original update.zip file on the phone, just renamed as something else. Can I rename that back to update.zip and get it to work?
     
  12. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    The one for root or the one that verizon ota'd you with?

    If the vzw one just rename it back to update.zip and give it a try.
     
  13. siggy_freud

    siggy_freud Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let me reexplain what I did/what the situation is.

    I took my stock 2.2.1 Droid and rooted it using the "root any version method."

    As part of rooting, I took the file that already on the Droid named update.zip and renamed it to backupupdate.zip and then used the downloaded .zip file and renamed that one to update.zip per the root instructions.

    Rooted great, tethered/overclocked, etc.

    About a week later it asks me to install a new update. I say okay, it says installation blocked. It repeats this. I want it to stop annoying me every 2 days, and thinking that it keeps seeing the update.zip file I used to root as an update, I rename it update1.zip.

    It still keeps asking me to update, so I post here. I restart the phone and tell it to allow installation from update.zip, but since I renamed update.zip to update1.zip, assuming that update.zip was STILL the file I used to root, nothing installs as it says update.zip cannot be found.

    When an OTA update comes, does it overwrite whatever update.zip is currently on the phone?
     
  14. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Yes.

    So updatebackup.zip could be the update from 2.2>2.2.1 or 2.2.1>2.2.2.

    IIRC if you find user teddyearp, he has a small server with lots of Droid files. You would be looking for the ota in his list with frg83d to frg83g.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

i have rooted my droid x 2 and it still wants to update?

,

rooted s3 wants to update constantly

,

why does my driod want to update all the time

,

why does my droid software update constantly