Rooted D1 Help

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by jeter10, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. jeter10

    jeter10 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I rooted my phone tonight with the one click Z4 which I read about on Facebook. Where do I get ROMs from (the market) or websites and then I download them using my USB? I'm fairly new to Droid so I'm not familiar with rooting, capabilities and ROMs. What cool things can I get and do with a rooted Droid 1?

    I have 2.2, kernel version 2.6 32.9-g874c292. Build # FRG22D

    Thanks for any help you can give me.
    :icon_ banana:
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  3. ballmore

    ballmore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Trap Hill, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can download most roms right off of this site. Just go to Forums>Custom Roms. Start reading through the list of available roms and pick one that appeals to you. No matter what though you will want to make a backup of your current phone's settings. Just starting out you don't need to make it hard for yourself. Download Rom Manager from the market. It'll help you make either a SPrecovery or ClockworkMod Recovery. Also download Titanium Backup and use it to backup all of your apps and system data. DO THE BACKUPS BEFORE FLASHING A ROM AND THEME. If you mess up flashing you will be able to go back to the previous state if you have a backup. If you save your apps you won't have to find them again in the market.
    Rom Manager does provide roms to flash (although not my favorite one :blackdroid:). When I first started out I used it to flash CyanogenMod, Simply Stunning, Liquid Froyo, Bugless Beast, Lithium Mod, and Shadowrom. From that list the top 3 would have to be Shadowrom, ChevyNo1's Simply Stunning, and ofcourse CyanogenMod. The free version gives you limited access but will help you get started. The paid version is well worth the money.
    Remember > DO THE BACKUPS OF YOUR APPS AND ORIGINAL STOCK ROM BEFORE FLASHING A ROM AND THEME.
     
  4. lerit50

    lerit50 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also read a lot before you root. I rooted back in may but didn't know anything about rooting so I went back to stock. I rooted again a week ago to ovc my phone.

    So basically, read all around this site before you decide to root, that way you can make sure you don't mess up and be scared and run back to stock like I did.
     
  5. jeter10

    jeter10 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOW, thanks so much. I'm pretty good with technology and I got scared off when I couldn't find my gmail contacts but finally found them. Once I couldn't find my apps icon, I freaked out and went back to stock. I'll do some reading and then try again. I will certainly back it up this time first.

    Thanks so much for the great feedback. I appreciate the non-technical terms as I'm not familiar with this type of stuff.

    You guys are the best.
    Take care and I'll get back to you once I get the courage up to do this again.
    dancedroid
     
  6. jeter10

    jeter10 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, OK, I've decided rooting isn't for me. I did back up my Droid on my computer so how would I go about getting back to factory stock? I did system restore, wiped the cache and now I get an error message saying the android keyboard (process com.google.android.inputmethod.latin) has stopped unexpectedly. I have the Droid plugged back into my computer, copied everything over to the Droid but still no luck (keyboard error message). Am I screwed? I did make a backup so there must be a solution. If not, I'll just get a new phone.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Why isn't rooting for you? :)

    Did you install a ROM that didn't work very well or something?

    As for going back to stock, there are multiple options, but rather than go that route let's see if we can make you a happy rooted user. :)
     
  8. jeter10

    jeter10 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would really like to do it successfully but I think I've really screwed up my Droid. I did the Z4 easy root b/c, followed the instructions, bought ROM manager premium, downloaded a ROM and now I forget what it was b/c I'm annoyed. Anywhooooo, if you can help, that would be great. I have no idea why it's not working well but I've done the system restore, etc... and now my Droid it stuck on the screen with the hand that moves over to the Droid guy but that keyboard error message comes up. Without a keyboard, what can I do?
    :icon_eek:
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    There's a way past that, but what I'm going to suggest you do instead is pull the battery and and get back into recovery, do a 3x wipe each of system data and data cache, as in do one three times then the other, restore your backup, and then boot into the OS.

    What ROM were you trying to install?
     
  10. jeter10

    jeter10 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much. I'll try that now. So I'll wipe the cache and system restore 3 times and then reboot, correct? I forget the name of the ROM now. I tried to download Ultimate Droid but I got an error message. I tried another one from ROM manager premium (it wasn't a premium ROM though). Since I really new to this and have no idea what I'm doing, we'll need to go slowly. But I'm willing to keep it rooted, if possible. Stand by...
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Another suggestion -- clear your download cache every time you try to download anything from ROM Manager, and some people have better luck with WiFi if it's available over 3G.

    Personally I do everything manually. :) But I'm like that. ;)
     
  12. jeter10

    jeter10 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just sent you a private message on this. Thanks again for your help!
     
Search tags for this page
can you use z4 rootb on galaxy s3
,
com.inputmethod.latin error
,

z4 root stopped unexpectedly