Rooted D1 Help

jeter10

Reaction score
Hi all,

I rooted my phone tonight with the one click Z4 which I read about on Facebook. Where do I get ROMs from (the market) or websites and then I download them using my USB? I'm fairly new to Droid so I'm not familiar with rooting, capabilities and ROMs. What cool things can I get and do with a rooted Droid 1?

I have 2.2, kernel version 2.6 32.9-g874c292. Build # FRG22D

Thanks for any help you can give me.
:icon_ banana:

ballmore

Reaction score
you can download most roms right off of this site. Just go to Forums>Custom Roms. Start reading through the list of available roms and pick one that appeals to you. No matter what though you will want to make a backup of your current phone's settings. Just starting out you don't need to make it hard for yourself. Download Rom Manager from the market. It'll help you make either a SPrecovery or ClockworkMod Recovery. Also download Titanium Backup and use it to backup all of your apps and system data. DO THE BACKUPS BEFORE FLASHING A ROM AND THEME. If you mess up flashing you will be able to go back to the previous state if you have a backup. If you save your apps you won't have to find them again in the market.
Rom Manager does provide roms to flash (although not my favorite one :blackdroid:). When I first started out I used it to flash CyanogenMod, Simply Stunning, Liquid Froyo, Bugless Beast, Lithium Mod, and Shadowrom. From that list the top 3 would have to be Shadowrom, ChevyNo1's Simply Stunning, and ofcourse CyanogenMod. The free version gives you limited access but will help you get started. The paid version is well worth the money.
Remember > DO THE BACKUPS OF YOUR APPS AND ORIGINAL STOCK ROM BEFORE FLASHING A ROM AND THEME.

lerit50

Reaction score
I would also read a lot before you root. I rooted back in may but didn't know anything about rooting so I went back to stock. I rooted again a week ago to ovc my phone.