Rooted but need upgrade..what to do?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by 408_grow, Dec 16, 2010.

1. 408_grow

408_grow New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi ladies and gents,

I have never used this droidforums app before so bare with me if this is not in the proper location.I just have a quick question,I am rooted but don't have any custom roms..in other words I am just stock but rooted..I basically just rooted to have wifi tethering..I keep getting the notification on top to system upgrade..do I do this?I did do it on accident and nothing happened..it took me to the screen I saw with the big android when I was rooting and then nothing happened..what can I do?how do I upgrade my system then root?thank you very much in advance..and if this is already taken care of sorry I've been busy with my new move to a new location.

Thanks,

Grow

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. dasanman69

dasanman69 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. Its definitely the correct place. I was rooted using z4root and accepted the 2.2.1 update and promptly lost root. Z4root was unable to reroot, but I was able to achieve root using the superoneclick found over at XDA. Its not an app but computer software. I would try unrooting first, accepting the update, then try z4root or use superoneclick.
    Good luck
  3. dbst

dbst Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Actually this isn't the right place :tongue: A mod will probably move you to the right section soon :)
  4. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

Ratings:
    +6
    Yes, wanting to find out about hacking information isn't exactly potential news. Let's try it over here.
  5. IanG

IanG Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Bump, I am also in the same boat and rooted with SBF Recovery.

What do we do? Will we need to unroot our phones, install the update, and then re-root? If so, how do we do this?

Thanks!
  6. jeffe65

jeffe65 Member

Ratings:
    +1