Rooted and want to install a ROM but confused how

Tyrell

Reaction score
I have a Droid 2 running version 2.3.20. I successfully rooted using dorootv3.sh from this thread Easier 1-2-3 Droid 2 Root for Windows / Linux / Mac - xda-developers.

I want to install the Liberty ROM (not Gingerbread version) but i'm not sure where to start?? I'm new to all of this.

So far I've downloaded Titanium Backup (free) and made a backup of my apps and data. It appears I also need to download "ROM Manager" and "Droid 2 Recovery Bootstrap?" I think ROM Manager (paid) can create a Nandroid backup which backs-up everything Ti Backup does and more (basically a complete backup of your phone) so why do I need Ti Backup?

Has anyone written up a nice step-by-step on what apps to download and steps to follow to create a backup and flash a new ROM (specifically Liberty)? I've seen a few YouTube vids but they always throw around a bunch of terms I'm not familiar with since I'm new to the game. Also not sure sure how out-of-date the info is.

Thanks for your help! So confused....

ldopa

Silver Member
Reaction score