1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooted and tethering

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by barski, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted my Droid X2 just to see if i could get this tethering to work. So far i tried barnacle, Wireless Tether, and WiFi Tether, with no luck. The network shows up on my laptop with all 3 of them but my laptop is unable to connect.

    Anyone get tethering working successfully on there Droid X2? (and no im not going to pay for it...just so that's not brought up)
  2. brockeverly
    Offline

    brockeverly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here we go again....
  3. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Have fun stealing!

    Sent from my DROID X2
  4. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whatever... sorry i asked.
  5. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
  6. ATR
    Offline

    ATR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got wireless tether to work no problem. You just can't have access control due to the kernel. Set up a password to control access.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  7. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I have a few questions

    What app are you using?

    When you say set up a password to control access, you mean go into the settings of the app?? or did i miss it?

    While in the Wireless Tether App i enable wifi-encryption and setup a password, but my laptop still wont connect. The transmit power is set at disabled to and my laptop still see's it.
  8. ATR
    Offline

    ATR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using the old "wireless tether" app that was on the market before Verizon blocked it. You can probably find it on 4shared.

    As far as the password goes, that's an in app setting.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  9. Wrenis Pinkle
    Offline

    Wrenis Pinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Two words -- PDA.Net.

    Sho'Nuff
  10. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, I have that app. I dont remember reinstalling the binaries tho...ill give it a try when I get home.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  11. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ive used that, but wireless is much better.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  12. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  13. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WOOO....Finally got it to work on my main laptop. It was a driver + software issue. If i installed just the driver and not the software it would work fine.
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2011
  14. vvildcard
    Offline

    vvildcard New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
  15. Haiasi
    Offline

    Haiasi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wifi_tether_v3_0-pre14.apk - android-wifi-tether - WiFi Tether for Root Users 3.0-pre14 *** EXPERIMENTAL *** - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting

    I downloaded that specific version and set the following values:

    Device Profile: Generic
    Setup Method: WEXT (ad-hoc)
    Lan Network Settings: 10.10.1.0/24

    I'm not sure what specifically Verizon Blocked with their Droid X 2.3.3 GB update or with the X2 2.2.2 "Froyobread" (I call it that because it claims it's Froyo but acts very similar to GB and has the same tethering block and setup as GB along but with an added app shortcut in the drawer) but I believe that they've programmed it to interrupt all non-authorized attempts at broadcasting a wifi network on the "192.x.x.x" and "172.x.x.x" network ranges. However, the "10.x.x.x" range may have been left untouched due to it being a popular range used for VPN tunneling, a feature built into the phone.

    I've tested this method on 3 X2's so far without a single issue. With the recent release of the full SBF file for the X2, I will attempt to dig for more applicable solutions including full infrastructure support.

    To those addressing this as stealing...

    I do not deny that this practice is without a doubt a breach of the terms of service for ANY carrier that charges for a wireless tethering feature, but at this point (and I apologize if I'm mistaken) I cannot find a single law, either state or federal that forbids the use of free tethering versus using a carrier's offered plan.

    With the upcoming change to VZW forcing a tiered plan on their coverage, gouging the new consumers for their data usage, and still charging additional for their tethering without gaining any additional bandwidth is not only wrong, but unnecessary.

    I look at it this way. I'm not stealing. I'm simply refusing their hotspot because I want to use the one I'm comfortable using. The idea that it is stealing almost doesn't make sense either because if that was the true case, VZW should be terminating member's accounts because they decided to use the Google navigation app rather than pay monthly for the VZ Navigator app.

    One thing that I think they and other carriers are seriously overlooking is that they could have raining lawsuits from a wide variety of parties for violating the open source licensing of Android. They're blocking methods and features that are open source and charging for their own for an OS they do not retain any rights or ownership to.

    But what bugs me the most is Verizon claims they've followed in the footsteps of AT&T with overloading their towers with bandwidth usage. Yet they are one of if not the biggest 3g provider with the most towers. They've also answered in response to why their entry data plan will only be for 2GB that the majority of their consumers (over 75%) use roughly 750MB of data every month. It doesn't seem to add up that such a small amount of data consumed per user can cause all of these "Overloads". Personally, I think the iPhone craze died down for them a little and they are just trying to get more money from the subscriber.

    Clearly all my own opinions, and if I'm mistaken on any of it, I welcome corrections and more insight on the subject.
  16. vvildcard
    Offline

    vvildcard New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Umm... you're the only one reporting this problem... I've had no trouble running a tether over 192.x.x.x, so I'm pretty sure there's no block. I suspect your issue is centered on the PC, not the phone.

    Talk like this is just going to spread false rumors.
  17. Haiasi
    Offline

    Haiasi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm just sharing my experience and opinion based on that. I can tell you that on the X2, just like the X on GB without running the tether patch, I could NEVER get the wireless tethering to work on the "192.x.x.x" or "172.x.x.x" range. This was the same issue on a total of 5 unique devices (2 Xs and 3 X2s).

    I also tried across 3 different computers in the house trying to connect, even disabling firewalls and setting up static IPs with no success.
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011
  18. vvildcard
    Offline

    vvildcard New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    All signs clearly point to a problem with your computer... it's the common factor in all your tests.

    Question: Can you tether one droid to another? I'm willing to bet you can.
  19. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haiasi it must be a problem with your compe. I've worked on many droid x's and droid x's and i could get them all to wireless tether. I ran into one problem with my laptop with a messed up driver...once that was fixed it works like a charm.
  20. arikara
    Offline

    arikara New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know do they still have to flash the TBH Patch when you have the 3.0 Exp and if so what are the steps for that? Do you have to put it in the wifi folder???? Sorta clueless at this point cause I still get the paywall from big red???
Search tags for this page
can you tether a droid x2
,
droid x2 tether
,

droid x2 wireless tether

,

how to tether droid x2 to laptop

,
how to tether my android x2 to my laptop
,
motorola mb870 tether to repeater
,
tethering droid x2 to laptop
,
wifi tether droid x2
,
x2 tether https