Rooted and lost contacts

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by nhra1ss, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. nhra1ss

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my D2 ( has OTA GB )and then backed up with Titanium Backup yesterday. I was looking to see what was different and found I didn't have any names/pics in my Handscent messaging ( I had been "freezing apps "). Looking also in my contact list, I found a lot missing. Tried the Backup Assistant but kept loosing contacts. Went back in to Titanium and "unfroze" everything I had did, putting it back to all apps running. Also did a cell reset ( power off/on) and even took out the battery. Luckily, I logged into Verizon and have been manually inputting my contacts back into my cell. I noticed the names are now showing up in my text list, but still no pics. Any suggestions on getting things back where they were? Do I back up contacts/pics a different way now that I have root?
     
  2. enlightened

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are your contacts not stored as Google contacts? Those come back up automatically. If they're stored as phone contacts, wiping the device would cause you to lose them.
     
  3. nhra1ss

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, they have always just backed up with Backup Assistant @ Verizon. I thought maybe I would have to use my Google account. Hopefully I can do 1 backup for my list rather than changing each one to Google, lol.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  4. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Backup Assistant has lost my contacts twice. I use Google now and haven't had any problems with losing contacts

    Boot Manager
     
  5. nhra1ss

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, to use Google to back up my contacts, I will have to manually add each contact to my Google account online? I found my contacts are still all showing at Verizon backup. Maybe put up 2 tabs in my browser, swithcing between Verizon and Google to manually transfer each one?
     
  6. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    You can do that or you can add them on the phone and select sync with Google

    Boot Manager
     
  7. nhra1ss

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, Brad. I decided to just pull up my Backup Assistant at Verizon and started inputting each missing contact back in my D2. I saw the popup and clicked to save to Google. Had Google up and saw it populating with my contacts. Will take me a few days, as I have just finished with "B" names tonight,lol.
     
Search tags for this page
droid x lost contact list
,
how to get contacts on rooted phone
,
is everything lost when phone is rooted
,
lost contacts from rooting phone
,
lost contacts when rooting
,
phone contacts not showing up on rooted droid x2
,

rooted android lost contacts

,
rooted droid x lost contacts
,

rooted phone lost contacts

,
will verizon backup assistant work if you root your phonewil