Rooted 2.1 getting 2.1 OTA Notification

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by idinostar, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. idinostar

    idinostar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    I'm not sure if this is normal but I'm still receiving the OTA notification despite upgrading from 2.0.1 to rooted 2.1. Is anyone else having this problem or did I screw up my rooting somewhere?
     
  2. vrdubin6

    vrdubin6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah.. quite a few people are reporting this.

    Put the following .zip in your system/etc/security folder and rename it otacerts.zip.bak and you shouldnt have the issue anymore.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. idinostar

    idinostar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the prompt reply vrdubin6!
     
  4. xcalibur

    xcalibur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm...I could've swear my droid is rooted and i even have the little super ninja thing. It says it's 2.1 but I downloaded the file but can't seem to move it into the security directory. I also tried using astro and going to the security directory to directly rename but I'm getting "insufficent permission" and can't rename it to .bak...did I do something wrong?
     
  5. mlposer

    mlposer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OTA update on rooted 2.01

    Question...

    I just performed the official OTA on the Droid for 2.1. The Droid was rooted but I had not yet made any other modifications. I assume that it no longer rooted but why do I still see the super user app in the app menu?

    Thanks
     
  6. Porterhouse0

    Porterhouse0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    cant find system folder!? Help?
     
  7. Phillipsave

    Phillipsave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    At least for DroidMod rooted phones, click yes on the 2.1 update, but it will not be loaded, you will be switched into Recovery, where you can Reboot your phone. Droidmod will update incorporating 2.1 features later.
     
  8. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    That app is just the frontend display. It shows a list of programs that have been granted su access, and pops up the dialog asking for permission. That won't be uninstalled, but the underlying "su" binary that is needed to make it work will be replaced/removed.
     
  9. mlposer

    mlposer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    2.01 rooted OTA

    So can I just delete the app?

    Thanks
     
  10. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well... you can, but ironically, you will need root access to do that, since it is stored in /system/app.
     
  11. xcalibur

    xcalibur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    "cant find system folder!? Help? "

    I mean to hit the quote while replying..lol
    i may be wrong,..but if you have astro file manager....at the top of the screen you should see Home, Up, Multi, Edit..etc. Hit the "Up" icon to go up a directory and you'll see the system and other fiiles that I as a clueless newbie wouldn't touch. Just pick the "sdcard" folder to go back down to where you usually would be..
     
  12. xcalibur

    xcalibur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm 100% my droid is rooted, and I have the app frontend display thing, but have no programs in there listed at all. Are there specific apps that will populate that list automagically once installed?
     
  13. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you type "su" or run a program that requires root access, you will see a popup dialog asking if you authorize that program to have root access. If you select "remember" or "always" (I forget exactly what it says), that application will show up in the application list in the superuser app.
     
  14. madspeed

    madspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can't seem to move the .bak. I am rooted, in the same situation as above, I open the superninja and there's nothing listed in there. What do I need to dao?
     
  15. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Run an application that requires root and it will pop up askiing for root access. To test this, open up terminal emulator and type "su". Once you hit accept, you should see it in the ninja application.
     
Search tags for this page

cant rename xbin