Root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by wildbill86, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm new to androids, so let me get this straight. If I download z4root.zip straight to my phone, I can open run and install straight from my phone without ever hooking it up to a computer?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  2. Ch0s3n0n3
    Offline

    Ch0s3n0n3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I bought my d2g it came with the the new 2.4.33 kernel. If I sbf back to stock will it go back to the 2.4.29? And is so will my phone download the new software update when back to stock? I feel like a tard for have having all sorts of questions, I just wanna learn. These droid 2 globals have a lot of issues stock and I hear that rooting can resolve them.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  4. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, when you return to stock, you will be offered the OTA update to 2.4.33
    If you kept it as stock (not removed any bloatware for example) installing the update will bring you back to 2.4.33. It's just that only 2.4.29 SBF has been leaked, not the 2.4.33 one
  5. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't plan on removing the bloatware, as i have read that is bad, I figure i will just freeze them, I havn't decided whether I want to load a rom, like fission. I'm affraid I will brick my brand new phone. however changing some cpu settings for better battery life would be wonderful. Can the stock operating system handle changing these settings, or should I rom?
    Also, will all of my normal phone functions still continue to work properly, gps, both radios for foreign countries, etc.....?
  6. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, by "remove" I was also including freezing, you need to unfreeze before installing the update, then you can freeze them again.

    You can underclock/overclock/undervolt etc without using a different ROM, see http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-global/140332-droid-2-global-overclock-brief-tutorial.html for example.

    Rooting won't impact the other functions you mention. ROMs might of course!
  7. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After i root, will i need to make a backup if i don't plan to rom yet, or is rsd lite, and the sbf file all i should need?
  8. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read that I need Motorola's drivers, does that just mean the sbf file?
  9. Ch0s3n0n3
    Offline

    Ch0s3n0n3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Absolute first priority is make a nandroid backup in bootstrapper

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded droid 2 bootstraper. I open and what do I do from there, reboot recovery, or bootsrrap recovery.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  11. Ch0s3n0n3
    Offline

    Ch0s3n0n3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bootstrap first then hit reboot

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1

    This thread has been Thunder struck!
  13. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, i made my nandroid back up, but after the cache backed up, the next like says no sd-ext found. Skipping backup of sd-ext. it then generated md5 sum and says backup complete. did i do something wrong?
  14. Ch0s3n0n3
    Offline

    Ch0s3n0n3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No your good

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also rooted with z4root, so do i need to download busybox?
  16. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    You can get the drivers from the moto site. And busybox was installed with titanium backup. I'm sure you can get it elsewhere

    Sent from my rooted DROID2
  17. Ch0s3n0n3
    Offline

    Ch0s3n0n3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should have it but if not I also say for the TB route or get busybox installer

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  18. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess i figured out the drivers were just for the usb hookup to the pc, I havn't downloaded titanium backup, do I need to, I was just going to use a bloatware freezer, so do i need busybox for anything?
  19. Ch0s3n0n3
    Offline

    Ch0s3n0n3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U don't have to but IMO it's an awesome app, must have for me. Very useful if eventually u try out different roms

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  20. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Discussions of how to pirate apps here are forbidden

    This thread has been Thunder struck!
Similar Threads
  1. 11bravo
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    2,204
  2. sharpz
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    385
  3. TheAlpha
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,184
  4. bfoster
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    583
  5. ricks
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    855
Loading...
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global z4root.zip

,

z4root zip tutorial