1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Root V2 w/recovory

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by Paulb787, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. Paulb787
    Offline

    Paulb787 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am curious who has tried this and if there are any negatives on doing this? are we still having to downgrade firmware. i am new to adb and was hoping for some help. i am researching right now?
  2. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    I'm in the same boat...experienced Linux user but new to android. O think the latest root uses the current firmware version.

    So once u root and flash recovery, is it possible to go back to stock if needed for some reason?



    - Powered by 1.21 Gigawatts of Android
  3. Paulb787
    Offline

    Paulb787 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where do we put these files? actually in the platform-tools folder? i am asuming push means to transfer to ur device.




    Now, you will need to push the misc.img, busybox, and psneuter by using the following below commands:
    • Adb push psneuter /data/local/
    • Adb push busybox/data/local
    • Adb push misc.img/data/local
    • Adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/psneuter
    • Adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/busybox
  4. johnsonsteven86
    Offline

    johnsonsteven86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i ended up making a folder for exploits. copy the directory name for example C:\Users\steven\Desktop\exploits and on adb type cd then paste your directory. so mine looked like this
    cd C:\Users\steven\Desktop\exploits
    or you can unzip the files to your adb folder but i couldnt get that to work
  5. banderbe
    Offline

    banderbe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You flash the latest firmware at the end. Did this last night and loving it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  6. Paulb787
    Offline

    Paulb787 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on step 4 doing good.. stand by tho thanks 4 the help
  7. Paulb787
    Offline

    Paulb787 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i paste the pg.zip file on my sd card? i do not see it in windows explorer
  8. johnsonsteven86
    Offline

    johnsonsteven86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you need to put your phone in drive mode
  9. Paulb787
    Offline

    Paulb787 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it!! all done! Wow..
  10. Parafly9
    Offline

    Parafly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    I rooted today. took me about 3 hours front to back, but I probably wasted at least an hour and a half by speeding throught eh directions and having to go back when it didn't work right (I flashed the wrong image during Step #4) but it ended up working out and I am rooted & loving it!
  11. PikaCane
    Offline

    PikaCane New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The other side of there
    Utterly stupid question but might as well ask LOL. Coming from a rooted D1, and used to SPR... How do you flash without having a recovery in place? I know it's probably obvious when you're in process, but I would rather be sure of myself first.

    I've been... THUNDERSTRUCK!
  12. gitku
    Offline

    gitku New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The files you download are RUU files that can be flashed through stock recovery. Then you push the necessary files through adb... If you have experience with adb the instructions posted are extremely easy to follow ... Took me around 30 to complete due to the length of time the RUU installs took.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  13. digdug1
    Offline

    digdug1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    yea but some of us dont know anything about adb:icon_eek:. if i could get adb on my computer and figure out how to use it the rest looks straight forward.
  14. gitku
    Offline

    gitku New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you don't know much about ADB I would do some homework on how to use it. The instructions on how to make your phone work with ADB are the same as many other HTC phones and can be found at

    public:windows_hboot_driver_install [RootWiki]

    If you have never used ADB before you use it from the command prompt (I assume you are using Windows?)

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/6865-how-use-adb-all-commands-options.html

    Check that out for some support on how to use ADB.

    Make sure you are comfortable using ADB before attempting root or wait until someone releases a one-click method.. I would hate for you to end up with a $600 paperweight. :icon_eek:
  15. msburr87
    Offline

    msburr87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason I cannot get adb to recognize my device. I've never had this problem with my droid, I used the link above and nothing, sdk drivers and nothing, the standard stock driver and nothing.
  16. PikaCane
    Offline

    PikaCane New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The other side of there
    I'm also in the unfamiliar with ADB group, but that's one of the reasons my D1 is still keeping us company. :) I have an aversion to 1-touch root programs, so I'll play in a few days, when I have time.

    I've been... THUNDERSTRUCK!
  17. chykal
    Offline

    chykal New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Rooted, flashed kernel and loaded custom debloated ROM. No issues to report but the rooting was a bit of a ride. I had mine in Charge Mode throughout, don't know if that makes any difference. Seems to be running fine so far. I will see if battery life is any better.