Root uh-oh...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by DriodDude, Apr 6, 2010.

1. DriodDude

DriodDude New Member

I'm a big android noob but I wanted to get root on my Moto Droid. After reading thread after thread about rooting I felt pretty prepared. I even dug through this site Start Here | Root Your Droid.

I started the root process using these instructions Obtaining Root | Root Your Droid.

Everything was fine and dandy until my Droid actually began installing the file. There were two errors...
    1. E : EOCD marker occurs after start of EOCD
    2. E :signature verification failed

Then it says Installation aborted and that how it ends. I pressed the sleep/power key and turned on my phone.

What did I do wrong?
  2. jstafford1

jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

Let me first ask.....have you recieved the 2.1 OTA?
  3. DriodDude

DriodDude New Member

Yes I have. I thought that would be an issue but I wanted to give it a try anyways.
  4. littlerick

littlerick New Member

i dont think they have rooted 2.1 yet
  5. Flomaster

Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

you can't use the update.zip for 2.01 on 2.1 sorry, the official 2.1 has not been rooted yet, you must install a prerooted 2.1 ROM or revert back to 2.01 via SBF and then root.

for the guys who went OTA thinking they could just switch back its been a long hard road.... sucks for those guys LOL

-=Jason=-
  6. DriodDude

DriodDude New Member

Is there an ETA on a 2.1 root?

=/
  7. LdaSense420

LdaSense420 New Member