1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

ROOT the Thunderbolt (and a lot of others) in 5 minutes or less, NO DATA LOSS!

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by porsche996, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. porsche996
    Offline

    porsche996 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. snmemx
    Offline

    snmemx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried it last night and it worked great, although I do have a question...hopefully someone will see this and know the fix. I show Superuser running and installed SetCPU and it shows in my running apps. Here's the problem - when I start SetCPU, it didn't allow me to set it as Superuser. Then I installed Root Explorer, and some problem...wouldn't allow me to add it to the Superuser list...and when in Root Explorer, I could mount r/w, which means I can't move bloatware. I'm getting the feeling that using the Unrevoked method rooted the phone, but there's something funky on the Superuser program or the root process didn't completely root it.

    Anyone have any thoughts on whether it could've gotten hung up somewhere?

    Thanks in advance for any input!
  3. speachey
    Offline

    speachey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to add Root Explorer to the superuser list and could mount as r/w and r/o both. I was also able to add and set SetCPU as a superuser
  4. snmemx
    Offline

    snmemx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried uninstalling/reinstalling Root Explorer and on start-up, it doesn't ask if I want to grant it superuser privileges. Weird stuff going on...guess I'll poke around in it some more. Did you use Unrevoked to root your phone?
  5. speachey
    Offline

    speachey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I did it two nights ago and it worked for me. However I should say that as soon as rooted, I immediately loaded the new gingeritis Rom so maybe that's why mine works

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  6. snmemx
    Offline

    snmemx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I recall getting a message either when installing setCPU or a root explorer that I had a SU file loaded on my SD card. That's the residual from the Unrevoked proces. Did you delete the SU zip file from your SD card after rooting?
  7. speachey
    Offline

    speachey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I moved it off the root of the SD, I'm guessing that is exactly what is holding you up. Create a folder and move the su file there and give it a shot
  8. porsche996
    Offline

    porsche996 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's interesting. I didn't think about having to leave the su file on the sd card. I hadn't deleted mine off, yet. Wonder if it has to stay in the same place or not? Hmm...
  9. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I tried both su's given in those instructions and ended up having to use the su patch for the TB posted awhile ago. I had it on my SD card from when I had my TB rooted before the MR2 build so I resorted on that. It worked as I was able to get root priviledges and underclock the device with SetCPU. Now a few more tests.
  10. ajk23az
    Offline

    ajk23az New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    I just tried this and I couldn't get past the ms-dos screen when it said "Zerging Root" @ 4:21 of the video ()

    It just said failed to get root, press any key to exit.

    Anyone know whats up?

    EDIT: Tried again and it worked. Root checker verified I have root access.
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  11. drew
    Offline

    drew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Are people actively using this? This thread seems to have low traffic for a simple root method. Just thought it was a little strange that no one has been posting "OMG OMG this works so well" considering it doesn't wipe your phone.

    *update* It works great! I had a minor glitch with the superuser app, but it really is a simple root (that doesn't wipe your data).
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  12. porsche996
    Offline

    porsche996 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm actively using it... :)

    I don't know if people are using it from this site or not. Doesn't matter to me... I used it, worked GREAT, and have a leaked version of stock Gingerbreak on my phone that's pretty well flawless.
  13. XKXDISTURBEDXKX
    Offline

    XKXDISTURBEDXKX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    some help me please...this may be a stupid question. when i downloaded the recovery file and clicked extract all and then went to the application and click on it it pops up for only a second then dissapears....what am I doing wrong
  14. porsche996
    Offline

    porsche996 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you have the HTC Sync software installed. You need to uninstall that (and any other "Auto-Sync" programs) before you can use the recovery software package.
  15. dfalcon217
    Offline

    dfalcon217 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, Ca.
    Big huge thanks, used this process yesterday to root my recently purchased Tbolt. Easy to follow instructions, no wiping.

    Cheers!
  16. dudeitsmattx
    Offline

    dudeitsmattx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Sweet post. Easy root. Took me longer to download all the files then to root the phone! Easy root for sure!
  17. zwegan
    Offline

    zwegan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dover, DE
    WOW!

    I love this method.

    I rooted both My Wife's and My own thunderbolt with it and now I can use titanium backup and flash a gingermod!


    Woohoo!
  18. Javaknight
    Offline

    Javaknight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Just did it - worked great!
  19. DROID11
    Offline

    DROID11 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I have had multiple issues while trying the method ultimately failing each time. With my computer I cannot download the HTC drivers even though I have never had HTC sync installed. I got passed that by using a friends computer. I went into the revolutionary website and entered my serial number which generated the beta code. I entered the beta code exactly as it was when I ran the root, but it said the code was incorrect. Any advice?
  20. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure you copy and paste it. Try again. If it continues you may have to report it to the revolutionary dev. team.
Search tags for this page
5 minutes or less to root a android
,
easy root s off thunderbolt
,
htc adr6400l root zip file
,
root htc thunderbolt unrevoked
,
root thunderbolt
,
rooting htc thunderbolt unrevoked
,
su for htc thunderbolt
,
thunderbolt root
,
unrevoked for thunderbolt
,
unrevoked htc thunderbolt
,

unrevoked thunderbolt

,

unrevoked thunderbolt root

,
unrevoked.com for thunderbolt
,
zerging root failed
,
zerging root failed to get root