Root R2D2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by quangtran1, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. quangtran1
    Offline

    quangtran1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,
    Can I root the R2D2 with z4root? Or is there a safer one-click root method? I know the R2D2 is essentially the D2, but just want to make sure. Thanks in advance. (PS: I did search for 'Rooting R2D2" but not much came up.)
    Thanks again.
  2. iwearhats
    Offline

    iwearhats New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    i've used the "no pc required method" when i first rooted my R2. I now use the DoRootMac which is a lot easier. There is a windows version available too. A simple search in here or Google should turn up what you need.
  3. bmcswee
    Offline

    bmcswee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I successfully rooted my R2D2 with z4root. The first time I ran z4root, it froze and I had to pull the battery. After that I put the phone in airplane mode (heard it would help, dunno why) and z4root did a permanent root fine. It did take some time though. At least 4 or 5 minutes just sitting there working.

    Hope that helps.
  4. PTREE818
    Offline

    PTREE818 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Westlake Village
    Yes hello .the answer to your question is yes.easiest way I've found Is Nerdslogic.s way . Either search nerdslogic or click on me and find him in my friends list.then pick all posts stated by... Then find "a very easy guide to rooting ,baxkup and rom flashing for the d2.just make sure when running z4 to be in airplane mode
    PTREE

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  5. docfong
    Offline

    docfong New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YES :blackdroid:
  6. The 13th Doctor
    Offline

    The 13th Doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    T.A.R.D.I.S.
    z4Root DOES work on R2s, used it a few times so far, flawlessly. Will Temp or Perm root, and undo as well.

    ClockWorks Droid 2 Bootstrapper works amazingly on my R2D2, bought it for $2(i think) and plan on donating more. Go get it. Install it, reboot into it, and make a back up of your entire phones system.

    Thats about all there really is to it now honestly. I know a good deal about tech, but was worried about bricking my new toy, and now I feel silly.

    With z4 and Droid2 BootStrapper youll be on your way in no time.
  7. Rocket Pak
    Offline

    Rocket Pak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    I used "DoRootWin 2.1.4" It worked fine on the my R2D2. I found it on XDA.
  8. davidwalsh10920
    Offline

    davidwalsh10920 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm rooted running liberty 2.0 rom on my r2d2. Everything is working fine. No f/c's.
Similar Threads
  1. cmking
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,564
  2. sdpate
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,650
  3. jtrpm
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,802
  4. Huskerman
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,401
  5. hayjude99
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,257
Loading...
Search tags for this page
how to jailbreak droid r2d2
,

how to root r2d2

,
r2d2 root how to
,

root droid r2d2

,

root r2d2

,
xda r2d2 root