Root Question

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by pmurray633, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. pmurray633

    pmurray633 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I found Z4Root online, emailed it to myself, and installed it. I tried to use it, so I click on ROOT, and it says at the bottom "Running exploint in order to obtain root access..." and the progress circle will go around and around and around. It never does anything, what am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Thunder_sl

    Thunder_sl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check your App Drawer and see if you have the superuser icon. I got stuck at that screen, but still rooted.
     
  3. pmurray633

    pmurray633 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, no superuser here.
     
  4. pmurray633

    pmurray633 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I randomly just tried it again, and BOOM, it worked, thanks! Love this site.
     
  5. KHeeney5

    KHeeney5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes it freezes up. Next time if it takes longer than 2 minutes pull the battery and try again. I've heard to reboot before you try to root, and it shouldn't happen. Either way, you're rooted. :D
     
  6. pmurray633

    pmurray633 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes sir, now I need to figure out how to do all the cool stuff and what not. And I need a computer with Windows too haha
     
  7. lalea1860

    lalea1860 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lg Ally

    I have rooted my phone using SuperoneClick and I have superuser status. I downloaded root explorer. I am having trouble deleting apps like amazon etc and keeping them GONE! They either do not delete/uninstall/or they come back again. I am not sure I am using root explorer correctly as I am having trouble figuring out how to find the apps inside the program. Also, GTalk, Alarm Service and Sync service are often running in the back. Are these apps important for the phone to function?
    I have tons of google apps and a My verizon as well but wasnt sure if to delete or not. Plus, I need to know how to delete them permanently?

    Help appreciated. (>%
     
  8. Thunder_sl

    Thunder_sl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0

    Deleting is not really a good idea. Read this thread: Removing the Bloat 2.2 OTA - (3 Ways) Super Easy & Safe, Safe & Easy, Free
     
  9. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out this video..


    If you delete them you will regret it. You will be back on here trying to find .apk files and panicking when the next OTA comes out.. :icon_ banana:
     
  10. mobile_sensei

    mobile_sensei Team Liberty Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Land of Liberty
    Ratings:
    +1
    Z4 Fix

    Anytime you want to use Z4 to root, restart after installing, then use Z4... works everytime :blackdroid:
     
  11. lalea1860

    lalea1860 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to the link above and read instructions..thanks for the link. I was going to Rename files/apps to .bak vs .apk as it instructed on the link.
    I went into root explorer...went to system...changed to mount rw...went to apps...long press on app...clicked Rename from drop down menu

    It said..You can not rename this file as it is Read Only?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  12. Wefler

    Wefler Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN - Broad Ripple
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey can anyone help with rooting Build 2.3.340? Z4 root seems to not like that one.
     
  13. KHeeney5

    KHeeney5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Look in my signature. 2.3.340 works with z4, just download the links I give in my writeup. z4 1.3.