Root programs having issues

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by koaxke, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. koaxke
    Offline

    koaxke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted my phone two months or so ago and installed a couple of programs, which worked for a few weeks. Now I've been having issues with an ad program (forgot the name) and titanium backup getting root access. Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this problem?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Did you update OTA? If so, then even though you rooted and superuser is on your phone, you may be unrooted.

    Bob
  3. koaxke
    Offline

    koaxke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is OTA? Sorry, this is my first Droid, so I'm still learning things.
  4. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Over-the-Air.
  5. koaxke
    Offline

    koaxke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think that I did, but could it have happened automatically? If so, do I need to unroot, and then reroot my phone?
  6. pzeronoir
    Offline

    pzeronoir New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Assuming you did not update to GB 2.3.4, did you update Superuser? Check to see if you are using SU 3.0.5. Quite a few people have run into root problems with the new version. If so, the first, and easiest potential solution, is to uninstall the SU update, which you can do directly from the Market.
  7. koaxke
    Offline

    koaxke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just checked and I was running a much older version of SU, so that wasn't the problem (I updated it now). Titanium backup is still giving me problems. I just checked my phone and I do have 2.3.4. Is that the problem? If so, how do I go about fixing it?
  8. pzeronoir
    Offline

    pzeronoir New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure you're F'd until someone develops a root for GB 2.3.4. It took devs about a month to root 2.3.3, so I'd guess it won't be much longer on 2.3.4.
  9. koaxke
    Offline

    koaxke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ****, really? Is there any way once the root for the 2.3.4 comes out, that I can make it to where my phone won't update itself automatically like that?