root problem please help!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by m0t0dr0id, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. m0t0dr0id
    Offline

    m0t0dr0id New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the stock images for android 2.2 (rooted) for my moto droid from rom manager and installed it thinking it was gonna be rooted. When it finished installing I went through the beginning setup and into the app drawer to see if the superuser icon was there in which it was. So I downloaded rom manager again and opened it and it told me I couldn't be granted the superuser permissions. I clicked the superuser icon in the app drawer and it brings me to a white screen. Just to be sure there was something wrong with my root I downloaded setcpu and I still couldn't be granted superuser permissions
    What should I do to obtain root access again?
     
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  3. m0t0dr0id
    Offline

    m0t0dr0id New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I created a backup but the problem is I can't restore it cause I no longer have root access so it won't let me into the recovery mode it just displays a triangle with an exclamation point in the middle. And if I reroot my phone will it make a difference if the superuser icon is already in my app drawer?
     
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Understand about recovery. I was hoping RM would allow you to restore. As to the SU in the app drawer I do not believe that is a problem.

    If you have a terminal emulator open it and type SU if the $ changes to a # you still have root.
     
  5. m0t0dr0id
    Offline

    m0t0dr0id New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I typed that into the terminal and got denied the SU permissions so I guess I'm unrooted ill try and reroot. Thank you very much for your help!
     
  6. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    I thought Chris modified for:
    Motorola Droid 1
    Motorola Droid 2
    Motorola Droid X
    Samsung Fascinate

    OP -- let us know how you resolve.

    Mike
     
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Last I knew it was impossible to root that way because you had to be rooted for one of the terminal commands to work.

    Just use z4root from the XDA thread. [APP] z4root - xda-developers