Root on phone only? no computer needed?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by phreakaj, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    why couldnt i just dl the files necessary to my phone and unzip then root wo being mounted?
     
  2. CoolRalph

    CoolRalph Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    prob cuz it has to be mounted to change the permissions ? i dont really know tho lol
     
  3. slammed

    slammed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is a new way to do it. you just need to have the signed file and append a new super user file to it. then just update the phone, no need to use adb. just need the pc to append the file and put it on the droid.

    AllDroid.org - View topic - Droid rooted
     
  4. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got it wo using a comp at all using the ins from xda wgich i posted earlier
     
  5. Mayze

    Mayze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. PetrolHead

    PetrolHead Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Too bad it won't work with the 2.0.1 update. When I try to download that .zip file, the phone tells me "cannot download. The content is not supported on this phone".

    I know this to be bogus because I downloaded the 2.0.1 update and installed it manually on my phone.
     
  7. PetrolHead

    PetrolHead Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You probably need download crutch or another prog that will allow any file type to be downloaded. Or you need to "allow browser to dl any type of file" in settings And by the way my root did not take. and still cant get it to work
     
  9. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I need to unzip the file then rename and move it(eg renaming the unzipped file as update.zip) or just rename the file and move wo unzipping? I thought my root worked but I was wrong and I have tried 6-7 times today
     
  10. bots

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    No don't unzip it, just rename it "update.zip". Be careful, sometimes windows won't let you see the .zip extension, so tons of people were renaming it update.zip.zip without knowing it. I'm using win7x64 and the file just shows up as "update", but I can tell that it's a zip file because the icon looks like a zip file. Thus I just renamed it to "update" and flashed it. Hope you can understand it's hard to explain.
     
  11. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    That seems to depend a lot on the link itself. When I emailed the file to myself, I got that error. When I clicked the link on alldroid I got that error. When I downloaded the file on a computer and re-hosted it on my own webspace, it downloaded fine.

    Is there a setting somewhere to select "Shut up and let me download whatever I want to"?
     
  12. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can tell the phone to download any file. You have to go into. A menu I can't remember where but some one will. Selecting option to " allowb browser to download any typ of file" you have to also have download crutch or a similar file manager that fools the phone into thinking it is an app that uses all file types
     
  13. dudeitsmattx

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok guys i need some help. i used this link AllDroid.org - View topic - How to Root your Droid<<<ONLY to root my phone that link is on the 1st page of this thred. now i did everything it sayed and after i was all done and my phone re-booted my key pad and soft keys do not light up.. help with that problem please.. also how do i know if i did it all right and the phone is now rooted? what tests and what do i need to do to make it a su like ive seen in threds? thanks

    well idk whats wrong now. i decided to redo the whole root setup and when i click to load the update it goes to load then says aborted file does not exist
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  14. dudeitsmattx

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i deleted the old file on my sd card and downloaded a new one and named it and mounted my phone and put the file on my phone sd card. did everything and this time is loaded it and said it was installed. and this time i take it that its working cuz theres a new icon thats called superuser permissions. but my key pad a soft keys still do not light up.
     
  15. Jaylor

    Jaylor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was easy as pie!

    Now to play, I wonder if I can put folders in the Apps tab now... *plays*

    However, I am kinda sad I won't be able to do OTA updates anymore. (Just barely though, I'll get over it fast! :)
     
Search tags for this page
download motorola root no cumputer zip
,
files required to root a phone
,
how to root manually without computer
,
i have downloaded a porn video on my computer but when i tra
,
jailbreak droid no computer
,
no computer root for sgh-t989d
,
root droid bionic no computer neede
,
root my phone manually
,
root phone no computer needed
,

root phone without computer