Root on new ota?

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by dadsterflip, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. dadsterflip
    Offline

    dadsterflip New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone heard how things are with unrevoked with rooting the new ota. I'm not asking them to hurry up or anything just incase some flamers out there or trolls.
  2. Cobraxxx
    Offline

    Cobraxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hopefully someone bring us the good news.....It's funny, how I finally see the benefits and customization benefits of being rooted and I accepted the new OTA and now I can't root anymore, lol.
  3. jsuh
    Offline

    jsuh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Please DO NOT DOWNGRADE to 2.1- there have been many problems with attempting this. Just hang tight for a few more days and Unrevoked should have a fix publicly released.
  5. Cobraxxx
    Offline

    Cobraxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Will wait...Thanks.
  6. jsuh
    Offline

    jsuh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All my steps I performed myself, twice actually on my own phone. Links for files are the same ones I used too...
  7. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check out their twitter page: unrevoked dev team (unrevoked) on Twitter

    looks like in their sleep deprived slave-shifts, someone pulled an “oopsie”. unrevoked 3.22 (or 3.3?) should be ready any time now
  8. doug piston
    Offline

    doug piston Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Your method would work but going to a 2.1 on a Slcd device is no fun. While it won't brick the device, it would render it less then usable and without an unlocked bootloader it would be difficult to fix.

    I would just put a warning that this is for Amoled screens only.


    For Slcd's I would use this version if you absolutely cannot wait it out.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=9384491&postcount=199
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  9. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    EDIT- Doug beat me to it. AMOLED only for these instructions.

    An easier way to determine whether a phone is AMOLED or SLCD is to go to menu-->settings-->About phone--> Hardware information. If the hardware version is 0002 it's AMOLED; if it's 0003 it's SLCD.
  10. jsuh
    Offline

    jsuh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry I didn't list it here.

    This article does state that it is only for Amoled devices, and the instructions lists how to tell whether if it's AMOLED or SLCD.
  11. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i read somewhere that unrevoked is supposed to be safer because it doesnt mess with the bootlog. my dinc is AMOLED... how much more risk is there involved in doing it this way?

    moreover, is the warning against downgrading to 2.1 not really an issue for AMOLED?
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  12. doug piston
    Offline

    doug piston Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This will work just fine on a amoled screen without issue. Just requires adb. Very simple to do, just read the directions all the way through.



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
  13. doug piston
    Offline

    doug piston Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wasn't meant to be an attack on you. Just some people don't read the fine print. I would still put the disclaimer in the op to cover your own ass.


    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
  14. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    By some people Doug is referring to me- I completely missed the fact that the instructions say for AMOLED only on the website.:blink: I saw the downgrade to 2.1 and immediately had flashbacks to problems people had over on IF soon after the SLCDs came out and people tried to root by downgrading. My bad- I apologize.
  15. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    aright, so as advised i went to check out more info for how to install adb on cyanogenmod, and under mac it just says “write me”. im hoping someone here did this with a mac and can point me in the right direction:

    i downloaded the SDK, and eclipse classic 3.5 now im not sure where to go from there, exactly
  16. jsuh
    Offline

    jsuh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I own a Mac. To install the SDK unzip the files to a directory (i.e. I have mine installed in /Macintosh HD/opt/android/android-sdk-mac_86/

    Then go to Terminal. Type "cd /opt/android/android-sdk-mac_86/".

    Then run command "tools/android" and if the Android SDK and ADV manager shows up, you should be ready to roll.

    In available packages you want to select Android SDK Tools and install that.

    Once it's all set up, plug your phone in via usb, open up Terminal, and type adb devices or adb shell and see if it picks up anything.
Search tags for this page

jonsuhhacks