1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Root nightmare!!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by supremekizzle, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok ill take it from the top.... downloaded sholes app, went through the root and install rom process. Root wasn't for me so I went to the sholes app and applied back to stock ROM, went into recovery and did a wipe caching. When I went into androzip there was still root related stuff so I deleted it. That was all earlier today. Just now I went to manage applications and there was still root apps that were installed, such as voice search and brightness app. The first one I deleted was voice search... when I went to my google search widget there was no microphone icon. After I saw this I freaked out and did a factory reset. Everything seems to be fine now (thank my backup pro) but what I want to know now is; Is my phone completely stock now? Why were the ROM related apps still on my phone after installing the "apparently" stock ROM?
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see how this is a nightmare but check your app drawer. If you have the superuser permissions app, then you are still rooted.
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    How is the Voice Search application a root application?? That is on everyone's Droid....
  4. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After I applied the sholes back to stock ROM I went to stock recovery and there was no superuser app. But why were there still ROM related apps in my manage applications. Maybe not a nightmared but I knew rooting was too big for me at this time. Does factory reset remove everything root related?
  5. PhoneSter
    Offline

    PhoneSter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should have went to the sholes app (in your drawer) and simply clicked on flash to stock 2.0.1... that simple
  6. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why was I able to delete it then?
  7. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Cause you must still be rooted then if you deleted it....and no a factory reset doesn't clear out root access...

    Is there a little ninja looking app in your app drawer? It should say SU Permissions...

    No biggie....stop freaking out man...you're making me paranoid :)

    If you think rooting and installing a ROM is this scary and "not for you"....and you didn't realize that it makes your phone perform the best it ever will right now.....then maybe you should have never attempted anything in the first place?
  8. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did do that like I said, but root related items still remained. I soppose all I want to know is.. after a factory reset is all root, ROM, whathaveyou, gone?
  9. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There was not a superuser app "little ninja" after I flashed stock ROM but I suppose it didn't remove everything.
  10. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    I don't know man......download Terminal Emulator from the Market (the one made by Android something) and open it up, pull out the physical keyboard and type

    su

    And hit enter....if you get a #, then you're still rooted.......but if you get a $ with "permission denied" then you're not rooted
  11. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did this after flashing stock ROM. I DO NOT have root anymore but root RELATED apps and files remained... I thought stock ROM deleted all this?
  12. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    well did you choose to wipe data before you flashed the stock ROM?
  13. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oooh yea... about that... maybe there lies the problem. But I thought it would have? Maybe I'm naieve.
  14. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    You thought it would automatically wipe data? thats why you still see apps...cause you didn't wipe the /data folder...
  15. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol. That little smiley face looks pissed
  16. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    /data? I thought you wiped via recovery menu?
  17. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait a tick... thinking back I did delete all the data associated with the root and ROM
  18. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    wiping the cache doesnt wipe /data but in sprecovery doing a factory reset wipes /data and cache
  19. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So how does one wipe /data?
  20. jakheb
    Offline

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ill just say that it didn't delete them because they are apps. You may not be rooted anymore but still have the apps. I.e. a nonrooted phone can still download setcpu, just not use it. Chill out and just uninstall the apps. And even wiping your cache and data doesn't delete apps. Or we wouldn't do it cuz wed have to reinstall everything.
Similar Threads
  1. kjg26
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,658
  2. carlz28
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    2,713
  3. jem7050
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,731
  4. grgguy
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    3,553
  5. MikeDVM
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,712
Loading...