Root Newbie

SupremePeter

Reaction score
I've been getting bored with my bionic and I finally decided to root it! I'm completely new to rooting and I've already installed safe strap 2.0, any tips or things I should know about rooting?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

marleyinoc

Reaction score
You probably want the latest safestrap. 2.11 I think. (It will allow future kexec roms...) For more info you can check @hashcode0f's twitter or blog. Also had full instructions there.

Probably the biggest thing I'd recommend is to read a ton. There's old info that's still useful but things have changed a lot too.

One major thing would be to not flash any ICS leaks beyond .232 until you've read Samuri's HoB thread and understand the repercussions of going past that build.

-I haz Bionic

OP
S

SupremePeter

Reaction score
You probably want the latest safestrap. 2.11 I think. (It will allow future kexec roms...) For more info you can check @hashcode0f's twitter or blog. Also had full instructions there.

Probably the biggest thing I'd recommend is to read a ton. There's old info that's still useful but things have changed a lot too.

One major thing would be to not flash any ICS leaks beyond .232 until you've read Samuri's HoB thread and understand the repercussions of going past that build.

-I haz Bionic

Yeah I've read up on house of bionic, i don't trust myself to try using house of bionic to update to. 232 and I personally would rather stay on the. 2233 build so I'll be able to move around from ICS to Gingerbread. I'll install safestrap 2.11 in a bit but i'm wondering on how to install a custom rom? I want to try out cyanogenmod 9 for the droid bionic and I was wondering if anyone could give me the link to it or explain how to install it

pbcarch

Reaction score
Same boat here. I finally gave in and rooted last night via the motofail method. Question though, before flashing 232 I did a backup thru titanium pro....what does safe strap do?? Total n00b here?

OP