Root my inc2

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible 2 Hacks' started by firefighter17101, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. firefighter17101
    Offline

    firefighter17101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A little lost. I would like to know how to root my phone so i could get rid of the crap and get full use of it. My phone did the OTA to 2.3.3 but i think i can get it back to 2.2.1 but doing a factory reset. Can someone help me w/ the root. Thanks
  2. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    You will not be able to go back to 2.2 by doing a factory reset. It will just wipe your phone's data.

    I do not think there is currently a way to get back to 2.2 from 2.3.

    SSX v2.0
  3. HTCuser
    Offline

    HTCuser New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ur going to have to wait a little bcuz the ota doesn't work with the root right now and u can't go back to 2.2 u would have had to root while on 2.2 but I'm sure they r gonna make one for the ota

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  4. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    If you don't want to wait, you can purchase the XTC Clip and do the root that way. Be aware that it is a non reversible S-OFF, so that's the only drawback. Still worthwhile to me, personally.
  5. firefighter17101
    Offline

    firefighter17101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was having issues with batt life, and the batt was dead out of the box from the get go and after fighting w/ cs and tech i got them to send me a new phone. i don't think it has gb if it still has 2.2 what is the best way to root that I can reverse if need be? Appreciate the help.
    Also I see people talking about s-off and other abbreviations. What is some of this stuff?

    Thanks again
  6. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    S-Off just means Security-Off ( I believe). The Dinc2 has a boot "menu", so to speak, called hboot. If that's set to S-On, you can't do anything with your phone. But if you can hack an S-Off hboot onto the phone (like what Alpharevx does), then it's wide open again.
  7. firefighter17101
    Offline

    firefighter17101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to activate the new inc2 vzw sent me I think it still has 2.2 how do I root it if it does? Help is appreciated being that I am new to droid. Thanks
  8. firefighter17101
    Offline

    firefighter17101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still looking for some guidance.
  9. ABQNM
    Offline

    ABQNM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it is still on 2.2 you can follow the guide here:

    [Guide] How to Root,Rom,and install recovery - Android Forums

    It will mention alpharevx which has been merged into Revolutionary, but it is basically the same and the link in the post goes to the same place. Just an FYI because the name of the software is different now.
  10. Darkpsycho
    Offline

    Darkpsycho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you already updated to gingerbread you CANNOT roll back to froyo

    Sent from my Droid Incredible 2
  11. ABQNM
    Offline

    ABQNM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tweeted by jcase a little while ago, Revolutionary can now root the Incredible 2 2.3. Currently it crashes at downloading CWM, so you still have to flash that and SU manually, but it definitely works!!
  12. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Great news, guys! I luckily rooted right before GB. Glad y'all will be getting that chance. Root this sucker to make it shine!
  13. Darkpsycho
    Offline

    Darkpsycho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You mean 2.3.3
  14. ABQNM
    Offline

    ABQNM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess I should have had a dash there. Incredible 2 - 2.3.

    Sent from my brain using human to phone transport technology.
  15. Darkpsycho
    Offline

    Darkpsycho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hah.. ah ok. but yea i'm going to sound stupid but does anyone have a step by step to root so I don't accidentally brick my phone. And seeing how there is no stable release of CM7 any recommendations for what ROM i should choose?
  16. smalrus
    Offline

    smalrus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I second DarkPsycho. I'm not a dev, this is my first smartphone, and I only have an extremely basic semblance of rooting lingo. I just want to root my Incredible 2 so I can do basic things like run Titanium Backup and Google Chat Video. A complete detailed step-by-step of how to use Revolutionary so I don't brick my phone would be invaluable.
  17. Darkpsycho
    Offline

    Darkpsycho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to do it on my own.. something went wrong with my computer recognizing my phone. I factory reset and went back to stock but i have s-off.. i think ill wait a bit before I root seeing as how im fine with stock for now
  18. estafusisx
    Offline

    estafusisx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=165794
    (GUIDE) how to root DINC2 2.3.3

    There you go :) to my knowledge that is completely accurate and as noob friendly as i could make it

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
how do i root my droid incredible 2
,
how to root inc2
,

inc 2 root

,
inc2
,
root htc inc2
,

root inc2