1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Root/Liberty/system recovery issues

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by t.noroeste, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. t.noroeste
    Offline

    t.noroeste New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. I have a droid x. I rooted with z4root. Downloaded and ran Bootstrapper, created backup, and then loaded liberty. Last night I decided to try to go back to froyo and make everything original. I flashed the nandroid and got froyo back up but 2 problems arose: the liberty boot image would still show up and was followed by the clockwork bootup (when liberty was running it would alos boot up in clockwork every time as well). I was able to make it stop booting in to clockwork by downloading a filemanager app and deleting and changing the name of a some logwrapper files. It is still booting with the liberty logo however. I am currently trying to reload liberty and here is where im stuck.

    for the record i am rooted still, confirmed by terminal when typing in "su" i get "#."

    I dont know if it was a good idea, but i erased cache and did data wipe to factory settings

    I re-downloaded bootstrapper to create a backup, ran it, bootstrapped recovery (replied Success) and rebooted recovery. If i remembre correct, the last time i did this it took me directly to clockwork, but now it is taking me to android system recovery mode. In android recovery mode, I get this message at the bottom "E: Cant open /cache/recovery/command." So the only thing I can do in recovery mode is apply sdcard:update.zip (which i tried but failed saying there was no such file in the directory), wipe data/factory reset, and wipe cache partition.

    I would like to get clockwork back but I don't know how. How else can i reload a rom.

    Please pardon my nooboisty. If I have not provided enough info its because I dont really have a decent understanging of this stuff yet and don't know what is relevant.
  2. t.noroeste
    Offline

    t.noroeste New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh and Ive been meaning to ask, what does it mean "to flash." like to flash a rom, or i read to flash clockworkmod recovery. whit types of files can be flashed and is there a diference between flashing and executing?
  3. t.noroeste
    Offline

    t.noroeste New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, just got an idea.

    when I got clockwork to stop on bootup i did this:

    deleted a file named "hijack"
    deleted a flile named logwrapper
    renamed logwrapper.bin to logwrapper.

    then rebooted.

    Im currently trying to flash clockwork via rom manager but it is not doing anything. just reboots reguraly. then I tried to install liberty via rom manager. It says press ok to reboot into clockworkmod recovery and continue the instalation. i press ok but it just reboots normally again, but with that liberty logo before the regular droid boot logo like I mentioned earlier
  4. Unknown2U
    Offline

    Unknown2U New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help

    I accidentally renamed logwrapper.bin to logwrapper without deleting logwrapper first.

    The Liberty Rom Logo still boots up. What should I do now?
  5. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    EDIT: Sorry I am tired, on second thought, just do a wipe from the stock recovery and you should be good to go. I suppose a wipe from clockwork might do to, but i would use the stock to be sure.
  6. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    The logwrapper thing you're talking about relates to Uninstalling the bootstrap recovery app. It has nothing to do with the boot logo. If the data wipe doesn't work (from stock recovery), and you can't get into clockwork (it sounds like you deleted it when you erased hijack?), you will need to sbf. I can't think of what else you could do

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
Search tags for this page

accidently deleted logwrapper

,

android system recovery 3e failed to mount /cache

,

android system recovery 3e root