root help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by SSpeeDEMONSS, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    Ratings:
    +0
    i rooted my phone before but the way i did it and some of the links arent working anymore. i have searched and tried many different threads on here with no luck. can someone walk me through step by step over chat or the phone because i hate my stock D1. thank you.

    Garrett
     
  2. jonathon1289
    Offline

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google for Z4Root download...that is a one click root method. If you can't find it send me a PM and I will send you the .apk

    Edit: I just saw a post that says Z4root is not working with the Droid...use SuperOneClick root instead.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2011
  3. Mark_V
    Offline

    Mark_V Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    OKC
    Ratings:
    +0
    SuperOneClick worked like a charm for me when I rooted my D1. dancedroid
     
  4. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is superoneclick?

    Garrett
     
  5. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I rooted the motocache way and I can't install any ROM. When I try this is what I see.

    Android System Recovery <2e>
    Patched by SirPsychoS (0.99.3b)

    Then when I go to install from my SAd card it says

    E: No tar archives found

    WhaT is wrong? Can I unroot from this so I can do superoneclick? I figured that out pretty easily.

    Garrett
     
  6. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Your ROM must be in update.zip format to use SP recovery. I recommend using clockwork or RZ recovery so you can just "install zip from SD" and not have to change the name.

    EDIT: And are you actually rooted? Or did you only flash the SBF file? You have to flash the SBF in RSD Lite (which it seems like you did). And then you have to boot into SP recovery and install the motocacheupdatev1.1.zip (renamed to "update") and then click "install", "allow update.zip install", "install update.zip". THEN you are rooted. If you have actually done all that, then just let me know and I can try and help you further.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2011
  7. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I am rooted. Followed it to the tee. I never had a problem before just going to install from sd card and finding it. It won't let me do any of that now. I just want to unroot completely back to a bone stock empty phone and go from therr differently. The way I did it last year isn't working because some of the links/files are no longer there.

    Garrett
     
  8. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, figured it out. I keep forgetting how to do things then this smart phone makes me feel dumb. Haha.

    Garrett