Root for Jelly Bean is here!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by The Stig 04, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  2. Idaho_G
    Offline

    Idaho_G New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was so stoked to find this thread until I read this will not work on the Maxx HD. I wish I knew I needed ICS to root my phone before I did the OTA JB upgrade. Everyday that passes is one day closer to me doing a FDR and going through with it.
  3. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    This isn't for your phone. Only Og razr

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  4. andy.moto
    Offline

    andy.moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't work for me

    It gives me a su-backup not found error.

    Have been trying to do it for over a week now!

    Someone please help!
  5. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    It sounds like you are trying to use the utility to restore root rather than the one to root. I mean that's the msg I got anyway when I tried using Matt's utility to restore root. I never protected root and I remember that msg coming up.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  6. andy.moto
    Offline

    andy.moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Stig,
    I had rooted the 4.0.4 before I upgraded to Jellybean.
    What should I do now? Please suggest.
  7. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    You could do it one of three ways. Third one probably being the easiest.

    1st install voodoo from Matt's utility 1.81, then using that protect your root, flash jelly bean, restore root with voodoo. If you still don't have root after restoring go into your superuser app scroll left and update the binaries. Or I think you could use another utility Matt created that helps restore root.

    2nd. (method I did just to see what would happen) you could just flash jelly bean which in turn gives you I guess a half rooted phone? The superuser app will be there but you won't have root permissions. Go to the link at the start of the thread and follow those steps to root using that utility.

    3rd. Go back to stock ICS using Matt's 1.81 utility, flash jelly bean then use the utility in the link to root again.

    I know these are very undetailed steps but I'm going to work right now Lol let me know if you need anymore help.



    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  8. andy.moto
    Offline

    andy.moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    The Stig, I need your help!

    So here's what I did:
    Had the 4.0.4 Verizon (XT912)
    Rooted it, used it for months until jellybean leak came out.
    Then installed it thinking that the root will stay, but it didnt.
    Now, the phone is rootless.

    I tried to root using Mattlgroff's root fixer, SuperSU asked for the ADB permissions on my phone, but then nothing happened.

    Now, Sunday afternoon, I did all the same things on my friend's XT912.
    But this time, using Voodoo Root Keeper, I protected the root in 4.0.4 and then flashed to 4.1.2.
    And then Mattlgroff's root fixer worked smoothly.

    I am pretty sure one cannot go back to ICS after upgrading to JellyBean. If there a way?
    Please direct on this matter.

    Thanks.
  9. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    You are correct there is no way to go back to ICS. I did the very same thing you did. Upgraded to JB and never protected root. Superuser APK was still there but I did not have any root permissions. Don't panic though lol do an FDR which will give you a clean JB slate, then root using the utility in the link on the first post and follow those directions and you will have root again.
  10. andy.moto
    Offline

    andy.moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just FDR'ed my phone, but didn't loose the root.
    Will I still be able to root? Just asking.
  11. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I'm not exactly sure what your asking. If you're rooted there should be no reason to re-root again. Are you on ICS still? or are you on JB?

    If you're still on ICS then it depends on the way you install JB that will determine if you keep root or not. If you do lose root in the process of installing JB then it can go one of two ways. You protected root with voodoo then it should be just a matter of updating your binaries. If you didn't protect root before installing JB then use the Utility in the link in the first post to regain root.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013
  12. andy.moto
    Offline

    andy.moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol!
    I was on rooted ICS. Upgraded to JB without protecting the root.
    Now I cannot get the root back. Even this link in the first post is not working for me.
  13. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Yeah that happened to me about 4-5 times. Is it giving you some sort of error message? Remember you can't have any apps disabled and Smart Actions has to be stock or virgin lol in otherwords if you have it set up clear the cache and retry. If all else fails FDR.
  14. andy.moto
    Offline

    andy.moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha!
    Already FDR'ed. Still didn't work.
    There's no error message, it shows su-backup not found, and nothing happens after that.
  15. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Hey sorry! tapatalk for some reason didn't notify me when you replied to the post! Hopefully by now you're rooted but if not. Use the link in the first post. Make sure you put your phone to "MTP" I think it is when you plugged your phone in and also that you have USB debugging on. Then run the utility and follow the instructions as it goes on.
  16. andy.moto
    Offline

    andy.moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still no success. Lol! I think I'll have to live life unrooted from now on! :(
  17. jaydoubledub
    Offline

    jaydoubledub New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  18. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  19. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    So the razr blade method works on the latest JB official update?

    Nevermind, saw in the droidrzr thread that it does.
Search tags for this page

droid 4 jelly bean root

,
droid charge jelly bean root
,
how to root droid 4 jelly bean
,

how to root jelly bean

,
how to root jellybean
,
how to root motorola droid 4 jelly bean
,

jelly bean root

,
jelly bean rooting
,
jellybean root
,

razr blade.zip

,

root droid 4 jelly bean

,
root droid razr maxx hd jelly bean
,
root for jelly bean
,

root jelly bean

,
rooting jelly bean