Root for Jelly Bean is here!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by The Stig 04, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. Redalert

    Redalert Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Josh, I can give you a step by step of what I did. If u want? I just have to log onto my PC later to type it out, easier for me.
     
  2. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    To uninstall updates go to menu>system settings>apps>all and look for SmartActions. Select Smart Actions and press "Uninstall updates...that's it. To get to battery savings mode, open SmartActions by pressing its icon in your apps drawer. I don't remember exactly how to select battery saving mode but it can't be difficult...just look for it. When you plug your phone into your PC with the factory provided USB cable, and with USB Debugging selected, pull down your notifications bar on the phone and select USB connections then select Media device (MTP). You mentioned earlier "can I get rid of pre-installed apps or does that require a whole different ROM?" If you root DO NOT delete any pre-installed app!! If you download an app like Titanium Backup you can freeze the app, but you don't want to delete any pre-installed app that you could not delete from a stock configuration (there are a few apps that came with the phone that you can uninstall without root and it is ok to delete them, but only them). If you uninstall a pre-installed app that required root to uninstall then you're going to have a problem getting an OTA update when the time comes. Keep in mind that rooting your phone does nothing...it won't run faster, smoother, use less battery, be more sexy, run better or anything like that. Root allows you access to settings and functions that you normally do not have in a stock configuration. Root also allows you to install and run customized ROMs and some apps that require root access.
     
  3. Redalert

    Redalert Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Nice write up J.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
     
  4. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +15
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Good to see this! I am due for my upgrade in 2 weeks. Snooping around for a new phone.
     
  5. redrat302

    redrat302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for my confusion as I am new to this forum a and rooting in general but I have a question. In the beginnng of this thread you mentioned that this rooting procedure for jellybean does not work on the RAZR maxx but I thought we were in the RAZR maxx forum....I'm confused. I'm trying to rood jelly bean on my RAZR maxx. Should I follow these steps?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Why would they post it here if it doesn't work on the MAXX? That makes no sense to me, but I can't speak from experience, honestly. I was planning on rooting, but I might have to redo a lot of stuff from what I understand once the official OTA comes out. I'm just going to wait on it.
     
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,788
    Likes Received:
    3,319
    Trophy Points:
    723
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +3,636
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    No, this DOES work on the Droid RAZR and RAZR MAXX, and it is specifically FOR Jelly Bean, so it will work ONLY on Jelly Bean. Just follow the instructions and you WILL have root.
     
  8. The Stig 04

    The Stig 04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +41
    Not sure what you are talking about my friend I could not find anywhere in this thread that this will not work on Razr Maxx. In the start of the thread I mentioned that I was not 100% sure if it worked or not being that I was at work and was not going to be able to try this until I got home. Later in the thread I posted that I succeeded, page two FoxKat posted that he also succeeded and it sounds like RedAlert also did. FoxKat's post does show what the utility says when running and it does say that it will not work on RAZR HD, RAZR M ECT.. Not sure how many Razr phones are out anymore but I think the "ect" is for the Razr Maxx HD.
     
  9. redrat302

    redrat302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the clarification. I was looking at what the utility states when running. I'll give it a shot.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. sockeblu

    sockeblu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, I know that The Stig 04 noted trying 3-4 times before it finally rooted, but what is the average tries for you guys? I have gone thru the process 5 times now and no luck. I never had the phone flash on and off, like with FoxKat, so haven't hit the power button after the cleaning up.. phase near the end. Just wondering if someone else is having this much trouble.
     
  11. The Stig 04

    The Stig 04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +41
    Have you tried to FDR? I tried it that many times then an FDR cleared it up and went through fine

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  12. sockeblu

    sockeblu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was hoping to avoid that, will try and get back with results.
     
  13. The Stig 04

    The Stig 04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +41
    Yeah I understand what you mean. But try and fail for 4 times just frustrated me and that was the last thing I could think of that was wrong.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  14. sockeblu

    sockeblu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bingo! FDR and then ran the program. It only made it as far as "Cleaning up..." before it paused, I pressed power with no results, but when I went into the supersu app it said I was rooted. Thanks!
     
  15. The Stig 04

    The Stig 04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +41
    How long are you waiting when it pauses? And did you download root checker to make sure?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page
droid 4 jelly bean root
,
how to root jelly bean
,
how to root jellybean
,

jelly bean root

,
jellybean root
,
razr blade.zip
,

root droid 4 jelly bean

,
root for jelly bean
,

root jelly bean

,
rooting jelly bean