[HACKS] Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

Discussion in 'Droid Labs' started by MotoCache1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    I doubt anyone has, but I _think_ you could do it by right clicking and running RSD Lite as Administrator.

    good luck
  2. LordBalthazar
    Offline

    LordBalthazar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I have a Droid 1 that I have been using as a secondary phone for certain apps. Yesterday my phone started acting weird (every app would force close when opened) and I was forced to do a Factory Reset. My problem is that the apps I use have now been updated beyond the current version of Droid 1 OS (2.2.3). They now require atleast 2.3.3 I am a complete noob when it comes to rooting, the process looks long and complicated so I have never tried it before, however people are saying that you can install 2.3.3 on a rooted phone so I am going to give it a try. I read through this guide and am guessing that once it's completed the phone is only "rooted" not "updated" to any new version of OS. Does anyone have a working link to a good 2.3.3 OS (or later, that will run on a Droid 1)? All the links I find are dead cause they're 3+ years old. Thanks in advance.

    Edit: Well I found a video on YouTube that still had the file available for download. So I guess I can give this a try:
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014
  3. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,352
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    You could get the rom from here: CyanogenMod Downloads

    Also, the member's post above yours, Teddyearp, has a link in his signature that could help
  4. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Yes, I have a boat load of files for the Droid A855. They're not organized but they're there. I was using ss5.6 at the last. It is an Android 2.3.7 ROM.

    However, you need to root your phone first, have you done that yet?

    good luck
  5. LordBalthazar
    Offline

    LordBalthazar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Hey, ya I rooted it tonight using the method on the first page of this thread. However, I tried following the instructions in the video I posted to upgrade my version. However, when I try to do the Backup it fails saying it can't dump the image and when I try to apply the update.zip file it says "not such file found". I am placing the file in the same place I put the files to root my phone. I tried both the file that was linked in the YouTube video as well as the latest file listed on the Cryo site.

    The place I'm putting the file is once I connect my phone to my computer and I get the "Brows files" option. I just select that and place the file inside that folder. I *am* renaming the file to update.zip as well.

    Also note: I have a 16gb SD card. I'm guessing this version of CMR is not compatible with it.


    When Trying to Backup it says:
    ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.1
    SD Card space free:0MB
    There may not be enough free space to complete backup... continuing...
    Backing up boot...
    Error while dumping boot image!

    When trying to apply update.zip it says:
    -- Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    E:Can't open /sdcard/update.zip
    (No such file or directory)
    Installation aborted.

    When I boot my phone and look at SD Card & Phone Storage Settings it says I have 14Gb free on my card. So I'm guessing I need to tell Clockwork where my card is... or perhaps my card isn't initializing when I load clockwork upon booting.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2014
Search tags for this page

droid 1 root

,
droid rooting
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1
,
root any droid
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root droid one
,
root regardless droidforums
,
rootdroid
,

rooting droid 1