Root breaks my texting???

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Plus five, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. Plus five
    Offline

    Plus five New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, I'm not new to the whole root scene, but it seems as though rooting my X has me stumped. Every time I get superuser permissions and reboot my phone, my text messaging gets fubar. I can't see if I've sent or received a text, but i can send them and receive only though pop-up. Suggestions?
  2. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    What method did you use to root? And why are you rebooting every time you get a SU permission? Which leads to another question, why does it keep asking for SU permission?

    Sorry your having issues but need a few details. Never heard of rooting a phone causing text issues.

    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  3. Plus five
    Offline

    Plus five New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, should have specified. I reboot after I get superuser access/root. It happens whether I'm using the z4root or doroot.bat method.
  4. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Do you use a texting app like Handcent? Sorry, just trying to understand. I'm use to seeing issues with double texts, not issues with not being able to see a text sent or received.
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010
  5. Plus five
    Offline

    Plus five New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's universal. Hancent, stock, chomp....all get the same issue. I'm thinking to use rsd and bring it back to out of the box stock. Ill try a root again after that, but if it still persists, stock is fine for now
  6. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    You could try wiping cache first, doesn't take as long. But I've never seen this issue from a simple rooting of a phone. I'll check around. Keep me posted.

    And I'm guessing since this has sat here all day and no one else answered, probably not too many people heard of it either.

    Sorry.
  7. Plus five
    Offline

    Plus five New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I have a unique way of breaking my electronics. I've done factory resets, un-root/re-root from my phone and still the same problem so idk. Any preferred rooting methods?
  8. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    I used rootmyx2 1-click method. It took a few to get it to go through, Because once you hook it up to your computer, hit the root button, you have to toggle between all your settings to get it to go. I toggled through PC mode, USB mass storage, charge only and media about twice each. Finally it went. But I haven't had any issues with root since.

    Here's a link>>>One Click Droid X Froyo ROOOOT GUI! - Droid X Rooting - AllDroid Public Board - One Click Droid X Froyo ROOOOT GUI! - Droid X Rooting - AllDroid Public Board - AllDroid.org > Home

    I would think there has to be a solution other than SBF. Most people don't need to flash that unless they are stuck in a loop or bricked. Wished I knew for ya what it was.
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010