root ANY phone ...not really

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jones7773, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. jones7773
    Offline

    jones7773 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys ... i rooted my droid 2, helped my grandson root his droid x...and, now, to my son's droid 1 ...i've been working hours trying to get it & WAAAJHJJJ....

    his phone has been updated to the 2.2 ... i tried the "root any droid" ...actually, quite a few times and everything works fine until i try to get it to install the update zip. then, i get a "update.zip install blocked" error msg and everyting is aborted ...actuall, it is "partially rooted" if there is such a thing ..it just needs superuser

    anyway, i've tried the easy rooting method, the step by method, and, have just wasted the day ..does anyone know how i can get this to complete?

    thanks
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think you need to flash .sbf on that phone back to stock, and then follow the link of root any droid. Something's funny, you can't have a "partially" rooted phone.
     
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,324
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,615


    i used this to root a d1, dx, d2, hero, and a g1.
     
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    How is it "partially" rooted? You have SPRecovery? Are you allowing the install before you install the update.zip?
     
  5. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you "catch the boot" during the .sbf flashing process?

    Are you making sure the filename is update.zip not update.zip.zip?

    Also if you have SPR loaded, from the .sbf you flashed you should be able to load any rooted 2.2 Rom and gain root access, if you still have the stock recovery you need to do the process again and follow the instructions exactly.

    I assume you used link 3 in my sig to do all of this, if not you should try.
     
  6. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Could be this too
     
  7. jones7773
    Offline

    jones7773 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    pc747 - i tried the one click before this post,,,,and again, after i read your post.

    the error i get is: --superuser.apk, failure[:not found (and superuser is in the tools dir); then, error06: failed to give proper permission to su

    ??
    and, when i said, "partially rooteded" i knew it was kind of like being "partialy pregnant, ..impossible," but, i didn't know a way to define what was really happening ..and, i did catch the boot (all three times i tried), i did rename update.zip to update --& i installed before i installed update.zip

    ??
     
  8. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    K, do you have SPR right now or the stock recovery?
     
  9. jones7773
    Offline

    jones7773 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i try the slawson easy root, everything looks great until the very last and i get the error msg "?"Failed! No ~~~~Fu goo~~
     
  10. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    One click root apps are very unrelieable.

    Do you know what recovery you have installed?
     
  11. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,324
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,615

    As Tallica said one root apps are horrid. The one I suggested above is not an app at all, its a tool that pushes every thing through adb. Now if a device was unrooted improperly, ie by some how removind super user or by not having all the required root files in the systems folder then you will have this. I know because I tried to unroot be using root explorer to just delete the su, well the root folder was still there and because I no longer had su I could not use root explorer again. I tried re rooting and it failed. I had to use sbf to fix my problem. So I would suggest using motocache1 sbf to root. Its a quick way to get root and all ste up and ready to go.
     
Search tags for this page

failed no fu goo

,
fix failed no fu goo
,
how to fix failed no fu goo
,
su failed no foo goo
,
what does it mean on my phone when says failed no fu goo