Root after gb

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by avatarhack, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. avatarhack

    avatarhack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello..shortly after upgrading to gb I did a bit of research on rooting my phone but from what I read it seemed a bit dangerous as rooting on gb methods were not tried and true yet seeing as it was just released. I even noticed a few instances where people actually recommended against rooting if you've done the upgrade. Now that its been some time..im figuring that its been done alot and I now want to do this right. I want to fully research backing up my existing image and restoring it before I root and hopefully there is a guide out there that covers recovery as well as rooting. Pardon me if I posted this in the wrong forum..any suggested documentation that I could use or suggestions in general would ne really helpful... thanks!!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. Kasey Krehbiel

    Kasey Krehbiel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. pyroman6950

    pyroman6950 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    can you root the droid x 2 with gb if so how step be step please:greendroid:
     
  4. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    You're in the wrong section. You need to sbf back to Froyo, then root and install the rooted GB files. There are how to's in the X2 section

    random rom'd X
     
  5. Leung

    Leung Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kasey's method was what i used to get a rooted GB. So far it's been working really well.
     
  6. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    If you buy the TBH app, you can use the all in one .602 zip and install over any ROM or version. I installed it over CM7 and the radio and everything is correct.

    random rom'd X