Root 2.2.3 without PC?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by kill00, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. kill00
    Offline

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well... I have a Droid 2.2.3. Whenever I connect it to my windows 7, it shows up as "device has malfunctioned, device.. unknown" everytime. I have tried reinstalling drivers, etc but the Computer never recognizes it as a Motorola device.

    Also, my phone doesn't charge when the phone is on and connected to the pc, but when the phone is connected to the PC and I turn the phone off, it charges (but then it wont turn on unless I disconnect it).

    Also, whenever it is connected, it never shows the USB icon/ or anything in the notification bar. So, I havent been able to root it yet. I have tried on 3 other computers (XP, 7, 7) and 3 other USB cables. Same results.



    I want to root my Droid 2.2.3, I have tried z4root app, but it doesn't support 2.2+



    How can I root my Droid without a PC, can I use terminal, etc and do it on the phone itself?
  2. kill00
    Offline

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    The method you have linked there is for a Droid 2. I am assuming since you are running 2.2.3 that you have a Droid 1, is that correct?
  4. kill00
    Offline

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. That is correct. Droid 1 w/ 2.2.3
  5. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Then in that case I am pretty sure you need a PC to do it at this point. From what I understand all the "one-clicks" or apps have not been updated since the latest update. If you would like I can get you a link of a method that will work, it just requires a PC.
    1 person likes this.
  6. kill00
    Offline

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah. I understand. It's ok. I found the SOC method. Thanks anyways
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Let me know how it goes. I was lead to believe (read it somewhere, not here) SOC does not work on 2.2.3 but if it does that would be good to know.
  8. fenriswolf039
    Offline

    fenriswolf039 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need help here too... never rooted my D1, been shopping for new phones but unhappy with the selection available.

    I really just want to overclock this thing so I don't have to wait so long for everything to happen.

    Help!
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Are you also running 2.2.3? As I said earlier I believe you will need a PC to do it since the apps that rooted the Droid 1 have not been updated in quite some time. If you need a link to the PC method I will try and grab the link for you.
  10. fenriswolf039
    Offline

    fenriswolf039 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, I got it rooted, tried installing the latest "stable" Cyanogen mod, 7.1.0 and it just gets stuck in a boot loop.

    I really just want to overclock. What's the simplest way to accomplish this? I don't care about themes and other stuff... the phone is just too slow.
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    What steps did you follow to install the ROM? And are you sure it was for the correct device?
  12. fenriswolf039
    Offline

    fenriswolf039 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded the Rom Manager Premium, selected Download mod, selected CyanogenMod, then it gave me a list. First I chose 7.1.0 because the dev's website said it was stable for the original Droid. That boot looped me. Then I went to my backup, and repeated the process. This time I selected 7.0.3, also listed as a "stable release" .

    Boot loop again.

    Do I even need Cyanogen to overclock? What I've read so far has left me a little unclear.
  13. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Overclocking is done with a kernel. Apply the kernel you want, then use a program such as SetCPU to adjust the frequency and such.
  14. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    And what steps are you following to install these ROMs? That would make a big difference as to whether or not you are successful.
  15. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts


    Ok lets start from the beginning. How did you root?

    When you installed RM Premium, did you flash clockwork mod recovery?
  16. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Also, the first link in my signature is a ROM flashing guide. Feel free to peruse that.
  17. fenriswolf039
    Offline

    fenriswolf039 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, since I last posted I've got it running in (it says) ultra low voltage at 1.0Ghz. I've got my wifi tether going, very cool.

    It's a Chevy kernel, basically just for overclocking from what I read about it. I'd like to change the appearance a bit now, do I need something like Cyanogen for that, or do I now just basically have a lot more themes available to me?

    I tried 3 different Cyanogen installs, all have failed. The Chevy kernel went right in and worked perfectly. Now I have this configuration backed up along with my stock configuration.

    Chevy and Cyanogen... apples and oranges? Kernel vs... what? Is Cyanogen just a mod I install over the kernel?
  18. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No it is not something you install over a kernel, it is an entire ROM which would include it's own kernel. And as long as you got it going you don't need it really but did you try to do the install using guidot's guide?
  19. fenriswolf039
    Offline

    fenriswolf039 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, I followed Guidot's guide the first three times with Cyanogen, and I did the 3 latest versions, in order from newest to oldest. They all just boot looped and I had to pull the battery each time.

    Chevy's went in without a fuss using the same method. This is all fine and well, I guess it's really just some theme variation I'm looking for now.
  20. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Are you running Chevy's full ROM or just one of his kernels?
Search tags for this page
droid 2.2.3 root
,

how to root a droid bionic without a computer

,
how to root android 2.2.3 without computer
,
how to root android phone without computer 2012
,
how to root droid bionic without computer
,
how to root droid bionic without pc
,
root 2.2.3
,
root android 2.2.3
,
root droid 2.2.3
,
root droid 3 without computer
,

root droid charge without computer

,

root phone without computer