Roms Get Sloppy after time

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by doublea500, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    Im not sure if this is just for my droid but as i use one rom for a while, it starts to get slower and slower. I have been using chevy's ss 5.4GB for like 3 weeks now. It used to be blazing fast, but now i get alot of forcecloses on golauncher and even handsent sms. its also alot slower and im getting worse battery then i used to get. i clear cache every once in a while but it doesnt seem to help much. this has happened to me with roms for a very long time. usually i just switch to another rom. that is probably why ive used almost every developers roms (as you can see from my sig). I have two quesitons. 1 (this is a dooozey combo question) is there any way to avoid this getting slower or get rid of the slowness? and 2, will just reflashing the rom (with clearing cache and data) make the rom like it once was on my droid?
     
  2. swagmonster
    Offline

    swagmonster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    worcester,MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would wipe data and cache then reflash the rom

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  3. jstafford1
    Online

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,141
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +213
    How often do you reboot or power down you phone?

    sent from somewhere...
     
  4. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    +1 on the reboot question. Most Roms tend to get slow i agree... the one i have been using for a long time (which is not on your list) is Sourcery Rom. Smooth, stable and feature packed. I do make sure to reboot every other day or so though.

    If you want to give it a Run there is a link in my sig to the most recent version.
     
  5. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    I reboot my phone usally at least once a day, I'm not sure though... ill try checkin it put

    And yes, sourcery is one of the only roms (on df) that I havnt used it. The reason now is that I kinda like gb and its features and I know ill miss it if I were to go froyo

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011
  6. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I think you would be surprised with the features you will find in sourcery.

    Tapped from my Sourcerized D1
     
  7. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    k, ill make it my next rom ill flash. ill report back to you when i flash it and how it works for me. but you can count on me flashing it!
     
  8. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Cool, let me know if you'll need some help...

    Tapped from my Sourcerized D1
     
  9. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    forget flashing over and over and over. try sbfing and then flashing a rom from a totally clean slate.
     
  10. m1ghtysauc3
    Offline

    m1ghtysauc3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canton, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    + 1 this


    Sent from my Droid 2 running Cyanogenmod7!
     
  11. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    +1 for sourcery. I've been running it for about 5 months now? Have never wiped/reflashed, and it runs just as well now as when I first flashed it.

    I do run a cache cleaner though. It wipes the cache once a day. I reboot maybe once a week.
     
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    He doesnt really have to sbf back to stock since it is a droid 1, I never had to do that once in over a year of flashing roms. What I did do to keep my droid performing top notch was even if I continued to run the same rom for extended periods of time I would wipe everything and reflash after at most 2 weeks. EVERY time I have ever mentioned this in a thread someone has commented on how its too much work to reflash that often, but it worked wonders for me and my phone.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  13. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Sourcery does have quite a few features but everytime I flash it, it always says there's an update and it downloads and doesn't flash and erases itself from the sdcard before I can manually flash it...so I haven't been able to run it properly...I'd ideally like to have 3 roms backed up ready to switch whenever- simply stunning because its just great, miui because its so much different than anything else and I'd like the last one to be a froyo rom
     
  14. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Try Sourcery 2.2 kang. It the cleaned updated version and will not have the update issue, let me know if you need help.

    Tapped from my Sourcerized D1