1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[ROM Tools] Team Get~R~Done D2G Rom-er Tool - a tool Convert D2 Roms for use on D2G

Discussion in 'GET~R~DONE' started by buryboi, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After learning a lot through trial and error, messing with several D2 Roms, I came up with this handy "tool" that I've been using it to test ROMs. After flashing the D2 Rom of your choice, flash this update to "convert" it for use on the Global. This tool allows any D2 Rom to be run on the D2G (don't quote me on that, I haven't personally tried them all, but so far every one has worked). Before trying this out, please become familiar with the known issues.

    Obviously use this tool at your own risk, neither I, nor any other member of Get~R~Done are respondible should you brick your phone.

    If this is your first time installing, download one of the following two files to the root of your sdcard along with a D2 rom of your choosing.

    If your installing Liberty 1.5 or Fission 2.5.7 download this file: D2G_Romer_v7.zip

    For Squidly and Apex 1.3.1 use this file: D2G_Romer.zip (bluetooth and global data will not function, see known issues as Apex has some other issues as well)

    Links to all previous versions of the D2G_Romer are in the changelogs.

    In addition to the Romer, you will probably want to download the following, to quickly/easily enable/disable the sensors:

    D2G_Sensors.zip

    Installation Instructions
    1. Reboot into Clockwork Recovery
    2. Create a nandroid Backup
    3. Factory Reset/Wipe Data/Cache
    4. Choose install zip from sdcard and navigate to the D2 Rom that you downloaded earlier.
    5. As soon as that completes, choose install zip from sdcard again and flash the D2G_Romer.zip
    6. (Optional) As soon as the Romer Flashes, choose install zip from sdcard again and flash the D2G_Sensors.zip (to disable the sensors, see known issues for more details regarding the sensors)
    7. When done, reboot your phone, hopefully, if all went well, you will not bootloop.

    For Liberty and Fission only, If you have already flashed a previous version of the D2G_Romer.zip just download the most recent version above and do the following:

    1. Reboot into Clockwork Recovery
    2. Choose install zip from sdcard and flash the most recent D2G_Romer.zip (FYI, there is no reason to flash the Sensor.zip as they are automatically disabled starting in Romer_v5)
    3. When done, reboot your phone.

    Known Issues
    1. All of the sensors are functional when enabled. Unfortunately they somehow cause the phone to soft reset whenever it sleeps. Because of this, they are disabled by default in all versions starting with version 5. The D2G_Sensors.zip is essentially a toggle. If sensors are working (and your phone is rebooting everytime it tries to sleep), flash D2G_Sensors.zip to disable them. If your sensors arent working (no auto rotate, and your phone will sleep like normal) flash it to enable them (and help me figure out what the problem is).

    2. build.prop will not report your rom as whatever you've flashed. It will say it is D2G Rom-er. This is because the tool is generic. I really didn't feel like making a seperate tool for every D2 Rom just so build.prop will report correctly. This easily fixed by manually editing build.prop from root explorer.

    3. For some very strange reason, I can't seem to get a dialer in apeX 1.3.1, and others have had bootloop with 1.4 (requiring SBF). I got 1.4 to boot on Romer_v1, still no Phone app (it is in /system/app, but doesn't show up in the drawer)

    4. [Fixed] Bluetooth was broken, but was fixed with v3, unfortunately v3 broke some scripts for those of you trying Liberty. This was fixed with v4. There are other problems starting bluetooth for those that never got the OTA update. This is easily solved by downloading the complete 2.4.330 Rom from this thread HERE.

    5. There have been reports of "M" logo bootloop with Squidly on Romer_v5.


    General Warnings
    Please familiarize yourself with SBF before trying one of these.

    I flashed a rom that would not let me boot back into Clockwork recovery (gummyjar - I should note that Liberty, which is based on gummyjar, works just fine). As of now, I don't know how/why that would happen so be careful, and do not do this unless you are comfortable using the SBF released by TBH.

    Before you flash any rom, be certain that it doesn't include the D2 kernel or Radio files (I'm not aware of any that do except maderstock and that's for the X). A D2 kernel on the D2G could mean a brick, and not the SBF cureable kind.

    For those that are wondering, this does not work for D1 Roms :(

    Changelog
    Version 1 is the only version safe on most D2 Roms. The other versions are safe with Liberty1.0 and 1.5 only.
    v1 Released 2-11-2011
    v2 Not released
    v3 Released 2-12-2011 - Fixed bluetooth and Global Data, but broke Liberty custom scripts
    v4 Released 2-13-2011 - Fixed Custom preinstall scripts.
    v5 Released 2-13-2011 - Slightly smaller file size, automatically disables sensors, fixes some obscure adbd issues.
    v6 Released 2-16-2011 - Minimized duplicate files to reduce download size, no need to upgrade from v5.
    v7 Released 3-15-2011 Fixed Lights (soft key and keyboard lights now on for 15 sec after last touch) Thanks to baker1md for the commands!

    FAQ's
    Q: Is D2G Romer a custom rom?
    A: Not really, it is packaged like one but essentially just copies factory D2G files over the wrong D2 files. You could flash a D2 Rom and adb push and permission the files, this is just MUCH faster and easier.

    Q: Really, I can just flash this over a D2 Rom on my D2G and finally mess around with my Global?
    A: Yep, it does have it's quirks (namely the sensors), but I think it gets us closer to more full roms on the D2G.

    Q: If I already used a previous version of the Romer, do I need to wipe data/cache when I update Romer?
    A: Shouldn't have to if all you are doing is updating the D2G Romer, just reboot into recovery and flash the newer version. If on the other hand you want to flash a different D2 Rom (or update the underlying D2 Rom) you should definitely wipe data/cache.
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
  2. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just came from vacation(but whataa idiot i forgot to bring my phone w/ me.LOL)and still Teamdefused isn't available yet!!!!????
    Well... okay..i'll try this one later(need to rest..tired of driving from Florida to NJ)..i'll flash this rom w/ liberty....Is Liberty rom from D2 is fine to flash w/?Thanx!:icon_ banana:
  3. jaygorman
    Offline

    jaygorman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Yay!! Get r done
  4. mreyn3693
    Offline

    mreyn3693 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I flashed the D2 Liberty 1.5 ROM and then the d2gromer.zip and the sensor.zip files to my d2g and besides the no sensor thing(which is no big deal to me) and for some reason my touchscreen keyboard will force close at times, I haven't noticed any issues. The slideout keyboard works fine in those cases when the touch screen keyboard FC.

    I thought the ROM had affected my in call volume but then I realized while playing with the settings that I enabled voice privacy. After disabling it, the volume is fine.
  5. sudod2g
    Offline

    sudod2g New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Works Great couldnt be easier, now running liberty, soon i will flash epic see how that goes!

    dancedroid.dancedroiddancedroiddancedroid
  6. WoZzY
    Offline

    WoZzY The GRD Dev Team Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthWest,FL
    nice the sensors work now I AM RUNNING LIBERTY 1.5 WITH d2G tEAM get~r~dons VERSION 4 ROMER
  7. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has your phone slept?

    Im on v3 still no sleepy/wakey :(

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  8. WoZzY
    Offline

    WoZzY The GRD Dev Team Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthWest,FL
    NO NOT YET BUT i HAVE IT PLUGGED IN BUT i LOVE THAT YOU GOT THE SENSORS FIXED HOW DID YOU DO IT BRO
  9. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The sensors have always worked...they just have the side effect of crashing the phone when it sleeps...hence disabling them. :(

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  10. WoZzY
    Offline

    WoZzY The GRD Dev Team Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthWest,FL
    I dont have myen ever go to sleep i do it manaully
  11. TwoBuells
    Offline

    TwoBuells New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Keyboard lights working???

    ok I've been playing with the phone most of the day today, setting the stock rom back to a usable format for my work week and now there is another update. you guys byte! I'm out of phone playing time today....

    really, Great job on working on stuff and making the D2G fun.

    I'm not going to flash another rom until I get a "Get~R~Done" ring tone.......
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011
  12. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, if the sensors are enabled, lights work, however sensors seem to cause that sleep crash issue. WoZzy says sensors are working for him, I assume that means its not crashing for him. I haven't yet tested the sensors...I disabled them when I flashed Romer v3.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  13. IslesFan
    Offline

    IslesFan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY

    I'm not able to get a GPS lock on this either.

    Otherwise.. I'm VERY happy so far.
  14. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get gps lock, but if the sensors are disabled, you will have a dot rather than an arrow. And I think compass will be broken.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  15. p0intman
    Offline

    p0intman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have to flash V2 before you use V4
  16. IslesFan
    Offline

    IslesFan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I figured the compass would be disabled...

    Your saying you get a GPS lock with your sensors disabled?
  17. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it shows my location with very high accuracy. So I think it has to be gps vs cell tower or wifi.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  18. IslesFan
    Offline

    IslesFan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    It's probably wifi, turn it off and see if you get a lock.
  19. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wifi was off...it even changed to an arrow when I walked a particular direction. I was outside in a field...if that matters.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  20. WoZzY
    Offline

    WoZzY The GRD Dev Team Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthWest,FL
    correction I did something stupid I clicked fix permissions now it crashes when I put it to sleep dont know what I did b4 that

    but I am going to try to recreate what I did to have sensors work
Search tags for this page
akm compass apk
,
com.motorola.blur.library.image.jar on droid x2
,
com.pv.wmdrm proxy
,
d2g romer tool
,
d2g romer tool for aosp roms
,
file:///android asset/html/ms/tethering wifi help.html
,
get r done d2g
,
jar romtools
,
networkstatetracker.smali
,
rom-er tool d2g
,
rom-er tool motorola d2g
,
romer get er done
,
sim causes reboot of d2g
,

team get r done

,
unable to resolve static field 22