Rom toolbox

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by wooooowwe, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. wooooowwe
    Offline

    wooooowwe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is it.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  2. denklau
    Offline

    denklau New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is an app on the market created by JRummy16. It is basically all of the most used root apps in one package. It includes most (if not all) of the features from ROM Manager, Titanium Backup, Root Explorer, Terminal Emulator, AdFree, SetCPU, etc. Plus it includes a font installer, boot animation installer, build.prop tweaks, and more. A very useful root app IMO
     
  3. wooooowwe
    Offline

    wooooowwe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it give you Dons you can install

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  4. denklau
    Offline

    denklau New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm assuming the "Dons" was supposed to be ROMs and your keyboard just auto-corrected you...

    And no, that is one of the features that ROM Manager has over ROM toolbox. You are on your own finding and downloading ROMs, but that isn't terribly difficult to do.
     
  5. smiller7117
    Offline

    smiller7117 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...my ROM Toolbox has a ROM Manager. And there are ROMS available for download and instalation. And I'm pretty sure they are ones that are compatible w/ my phone.
     
  6. denklau
    Offline

    denklau New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well...that's cool. Which phone are you using? My guess would be that this feature isn't up and running on the Droid Razr yet and might not be at all (due to the fact of the locked bootloader and we need a bootstrap to get into recovery...)
     
  7. smiller7117
    Offline

    smiller7117 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using Droid 2 Global, CM7 ROM.
    I had to install bootstrapper in order to boot into recovery as well. Its the first option in ROM Toolbox. Tried to upload a screenshot but the forum won't let me for some reason. Lol
     
  8. casper05lly
    Offline

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recently rooted my phone and used toolbox to change font. I was going to make a nandroid backup with it, but I am only rooted and don't have safe strap. Will it still allow me to make a back up.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  9. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    I tried to make nandroid backup with ROM Toolbox and it wouldn't do it. I think you're going to need to use SafeStrap or BootStrap. A great utility has been put together by Mattlgroff over on the Razr Hacks page on this forum. I'd recommend downloading and installing this utility from here Droid RAZR Hacks. It has just about everything you need if you need to root, want to unroot, need to recover from a bricked phone etc. You can install Safestrap or Bootstrap through the utility.
     
  10. casper05lly
    Offline

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I need to do safestrap and all that if i don't plan on flashing rom

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  11. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    No. If you want to make a backup you're going to need SafeStrap or BootStrap though. I recommend the utility I mentioned...it is nice to have handy...particularly if you root.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  12. casper05lly
    Offline

    casper05lly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks JP

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr toolbox
,
how to install rom toolbox
,
how to install roms using rom toolbox
,

how to install roms with rom toolbox

,
rom toolbox installing roms
,
rom toolbox versus titanium backup
,
rom toolbox won't download roms
,
romtoolbox what new
,

setcpu vs rom toolbox

,
using romtoolbox to instll rom