[ROM STABLE] Stock Gingerbread Android 2.3.3 Build GPA14

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by peteralfonso, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. hyperdude

    hyperdude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Means your 3G is working (ie. there's some signal) but no successful internet connection (specifically, the phone lost contact with Google servers).
     
  2. motcher41

    motcher41 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brainerd, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never had the internet not work where I live. If internet didnt work MMS didnt either. Ill try pinging google servers next time. Ill just have see how the new GPA15 goes with it. Thanks.
     
  3. dtm644

    dtm644 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ?Will this work on droid 2 that is right out of box? i really want gingerbread

    i have droid 2
    build vzw
    kernel 2.6.32.9
    android verison-- 2.2
     
    #303 dtm644, Apr 27, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  4. bplewis24

    bplewis24 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, it will not work on a Droid 2. You'll have to check the Droid 2 forums to see if they have anything for it. Check out this forum: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-roms/

    It's a Droid 2 and not a Droid 2 Global, right?

    Brandon
     
  5. lrttn

    lrttn New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem with search button long press

    I've installed GPA14 and the 1.00GHz_LV_V0.2.zip kernel. Previously, a long press on the search key would launch "Voice Search". A long press now launches Quick Settings. If I uninstall Quick Settings, a long press does nothing. A short press continues to launch the Google Search app.

    As instructed, I did not download Google Search from the market after flashing GPA14 and installed all apps from scratch rather than from a backup. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

    Great ROM! Many thanks.
     
  6. amgala

    amgala New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had this problem ever since installing GPA14. It seems to take forever to save the picture onto the card (and for the small thumbnail of your previous picture to change to the one you just took) and if you try to take another picture too quickly, the app freezes. Sometimes it FCs, sometimes it makes my :motdroidvert: reboot completely.

    I tried to clear my Camera app data/cache but no luck.
     
  7. bplewis24

    bplewis24 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before your last paragraph, I was going to say that it sounds like you don't have Voice Search installed. But it's clear that you don't. I'm not sure where you got the impression that you shouldn't download it from the market, but you probably should.

    I didn't have to download it because I didn't wipe coming from GPA13. But I checked the market and the version of search available is 2.1.1, and that's the same version on my phone. Go ahead and download it: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.google.android.voicesearch&feature=search_result

    Brandon
     
    #307 bplewis24, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
  8. lrttn

    lrttn New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bplewis24 -

    You were correct that I had not installed Voice Search.

    The GPA download page states "... When you download all of the Google apps from the Market, be sure to not download Street View and Google Search because you will overwrite the new version with the "old" Market version."

    So, I didn't download Google Search or Street View, but missed that I should have (and now have) installed Voice Search.

    Many Thanks for the prompt reply.

    lrttn
     
  9. bplewis24

    bplewis24 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, there can sometimes be confusion between Google Search and Voice Search apps. Heck, even in my reply to you I accidentally wrote "Google Search" instead of Voice Search (I just now edited it for accuracy).

    Brandon
     
  10. Felix 222

    Felix 222 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    anyone else having problems with the music player? its not very stable + "shuffle all" doesn't work. the same happened with froyo bb.
     
  11. djembeman

    djembeman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Initial google setup problems/ continous boot loop

    So, I've tried this several times over the past month and a half and can't get it to work at all. I eventually tried bypassing the initial google login prompt (touch the droid) and called *228 to activate there first and then it would let me connect to Google for the setup of the phone. I went about 3 hours after this and then wanted to do a reboot and now I'm stuck in a continuous boot loop. I tried a kernel that worked for me in the past but still no love.

    I wiped cache and did the factory restore 3 times each time I've tried to flash this!

    My phone seems to just hate GPA14!!
     
  12. bplewis24

    bplewis24 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    You said you wiped cache, but did you wipe data each time as well?

    If you're stuck in a bootloop, boot into recovery and restore your most recent backup or flash back to a stock rooted build. Once you get stable again, weigh your options for trying another ROM. Maybe try and see if GPA12 or 13 works better, and then upgrade to 14.

    Brandon
     
Search tags for this page
[rom stable] stock gingerbread android 2.3.3 build gpa14
,
//bit.ly/dqtuus
,
android stock rom 2.3.3
,
gingerbread android wallpaper
,
gpa14 gingerbread
,

reloc library cannot locate android reboot

,
tab-723 kernel
,
wallpaper android gingerbread
,
what is minimoto 2.3.2
,

www.http://bit.ly/ dqtuus