{ROM RELEASE BETA} PEv6 2.3.3

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by actngrezy, May 11, 2011.

  1. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Why do you assume that PE is doing the hatin'? Maybe it's your Droid that hates PE? LOL

    How did you do the ROM install?
  2. Alastrionia
    Offline

    Alastrionia Sourcery Themer / Designr Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyside, WA
    Theme Chooser - IMO - forget it

    at least for now
    while it might be a "fast" way of doing theming
    it lacks serious spots on it and frankly those are too much to ignore.

    I'll take the good ol update.zip way anyday
    And that's how my theme is gonna rock PE when all is said and done

    Today, did some GPS tracking, music playing, data , etc
    and still not making this ROM budge on me. my droid just loves it.
  3. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Ditto Al! I couldn't agree more.
  4. actngrezy
    Offline

    actngrezy New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delaware

    hey im still not home from work yet. its been long day sorry. i will try as soon as i get there. im on the journey home now. sorry long days kick my butt
  5. dpaine88
    Offline

    dpaine88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You know, at first I HATED Theme Chooser and thought it was stupid.

    But now, I love it.

    I use one theme, and only one theme. The Galaxy S theme. No other theme has ever interested me, ever.

    It's always oh damnit, I gotta wait for them to make the theme and port it over. Oh great, a new version of the ROM. Now time to wait for someone to port it. Oh, I switched ROMs, gotta find that theme.

    Then I figured, what the hell, I'll give the Theme Chooser a chance once I realized Galaxy S was on it.

    It's not that bad, at least for Galaxy S . I don't notice one thing missing from the update.zip.

    It's handy since if a ROM gets updated, you switch ROMs, etc etc, you can just go pop- theres the theme. No porting etc.

    Theme Chooser works for any ROM supporting it and works across different android versions etc. Making life a lot easier.



    PE is the best ROM, hands down but development had slowed a little bit so I was switching around and Theme Chooser made it much easier.

    PE is the ONLY rom I can bear looking at stock GB for, because it is that awesome:)


    If the dev's aren't into it, so be it. But , as someone who used to hate the thing, it really isn't that bad for MY uses. No idea bout anything else but the TouchWiz(gala s) theme.

    EDIT: dont want to look like a jackass about waiting for themes at all, wasnt trying to give that vibe.
  6. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've made an update.zip which contains the entire lib folder from PEv6, but with the libaudiopolicy.so switched to the PEv5 one, worked perfect for me.... you want me to post it?
  7. lonzorizo
    Offline

    lonzorizo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well said, amen to that
  8. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well MM has been doing basically much of the same things as theme chooser..... but at a much more 'precise' clip... percision...;) jmho
  9. Airbot
    Offline

    Airbot New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Nice.

    Finally got this to work. Was having random reboots and system lockups. Even started from scratch again and wiped/formatted with GLD's way. Clean and still the same. Tried different LV kernals speeds, Pete's, etc. Same results.

    Finally used the 1.1 Standard voltage, and perfectly fine finally. Weird because I had zero problems with 1.1 LV with PE 5.0.2. And all older LV kernels through long past ROM's.

    I think some of these Droids (like mine) just can't handle some of these newer LV kernels. If there've been recent changes in them from, say default PE 5.0.2 one then yeah.

    All good now, though.
  10. mjoshea148
    Offline

    mjoshea148 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Methuen, Massachusetts
    Thank you for the reply and all the hard work. No apology or explanation is necessary.
  11. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    I know from past experience that Greg would be grateful if you posted it. Thanks Mbk!
  12. actngrezy
    Offline

    actngrezy New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delaware
    That would be so great if you could post it. Sorry for the delay on those waiting for it. I got home so late last night I just fell asleep.
  13. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nice to finally have a gb rom that works without having to constantly add and remove apps from "keep in m emory"

    now if only i could get swype to act like froyo swype :(
  14. racketier
    Offline

    racketier New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your reply actngrezy.

    Your original post mentions that we can use deprimed kernels. I know you were referring to USB mounting, but it might be nice to also point out if you use deprimed then you will run into issues with compcache not starting on its own.

    Thanks again for the great rom!
  15. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    It's been so long since I've been on Froyo, I can't remember any differences. What do you want Swype to do on GB that it's not doing?
  16. LVGDroidFan
    Offline

    LVGDroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great ROM, thanks for your work on this. FYI I still have had the "constant vibration" bug showing up occasionally, as it does in the other gingerbread roms. Any remedy to this would be greatly appreciated. I think the CM team is looking at this also.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  17. daware
    Offline

    daware New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    This is running great so far. Is it just me, or does the power off not work? Selecting power off brings up the reboot phone menu for me.
  18. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Power off works, you just need to select it from the menu. The menu was specifically coded that way, so that users have a choice between a number of options, including rebooting into recovery, from the power button.

    EDIT: I just re-read your post -- when I select Power Off, I get a pop-up that says "Your phone will shut down" and I have an option between OK and Cancel. Are you sure you didn't accidentally touch Reboot, which brings up 4 reboot options?
  19. Alastrionia
    Offline

    Alastrionia Sourcery Themer / Designr Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyside, WA
    any chance you're just not 100% touching the right spot?

    mine's working just fine but I have fat fingers so I have to make sure I'm hitting the right spot, haha
  20. daware
    Offline

    daware New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    It works, but it's glitchy for me. For example, I can hit power off, and it says your phone will shut down as expected. I then hit back and didn't actually shut the phone off. After that, I select the reboot to get the 4 choices. I don't reboot and hit the back button then select power off. I'm presented with the reboot options again. I hope this makes sense. It's not a big deal, but I just wanted to know if it was just me.
Search tags for this page

2.3 elite beta

,

download project elita beta