ROM Manger wont fix permissions

Discussion in 'Koush' started by n0m0n, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just did bin and it worked for me, wonder if I should do xbin also.
     
  2. Hashi

    Hashi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Erren,

    Thanks for the reply. I installed busybox using those exact instructions (actually I've tried 3 different versions now). Why are you convinced there is no bug in Rom Manager? Because it works for you? You know there are bugs in everything unless every line of code is commented out.

    Anyway, I've followed your instructions to the letter so that I could have this conversation without a loss of credibility and here I am again with the error that I don't have the privileges to click a single button in Rom Manager.

    So now that is done. Could someone tell me the answer to my original question (which I apologize but perhaps I didn't even ask it originally):

    What are the criteria Rom Manager uses before it cranks out that damned "No Privileges" message? If I knew that, I could more likely succeed in getting it to run. Every other root app I've got works fine and that includes busybox.

    Thanks,

    Hashi

    PS: I also originally did what tcrews did having seen this as a possible 'fix' before as well. That didn't change anything but I appreciate seeing these suggestions.
     
  3. Erren

    Erren New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hashi,

    Sorry for the confusion. Your question is off topic from the OP and I assumed it was a similar problem. If you have questions on the application, you should probably consider talking to the Dev of Rom Manager or creating a separate thread. His name is Koush and you can find him on IRC. I believe his source is publicly available as well.

    freenode Web IRC (qwebirc)
    Channel is #koush

    As for some basic troubleshooting steps, make sure you have the most recent version or Rom Manager installed and that you currently have the Premium version installed. You can tell it is installed by looking at the top of Rom Manager when you open the app for the text "ROM Manager Premium v.1.8.8.6" (as of this post). Some older versions of Rom Manager had bugs with the Premium license key integration. You should also try uninstalling Rom Manager and the Premium Key app and then reinstalling. If that doesn't work you should consider wiping cache/data from the recovery and trying to install/run Rom Manager again.

    I'm not claiming Rom Manager is bug free. I am claiming that 99% of the population that uses the app has it working and not having the same problem you are. In this particular case (n0m0n OP) the problem is Froyo doesn't have busybox installed in the right places by default and Rom Manager requires it. Busybox does not sound like your problem.

    Also, post your rom build and OS version. Just mentioning you are running 2.1 is not enough information.
     
  4. Hashi

    Hashi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Erren,

    Thanks for the info. I emailed Kou****ska (sp?) earlier today and if I find anything out will probably post it. That does seem the best route. I'll try him on IRC as well.

    At the moment I'm running a completely vanilla stock Google (ala Verizon) build 2.1-update1 just as a 'sanity check' between other builds. The kernel is one of p3droid's low voltage ones OC'd to 900 and it is pretty nice for stock stuff. Kernel is 2.6.29-omap1-p3droid.

    I just was interested in giving Rom Manager a try having heard good things about it, and still am. I've used a number of different ROMs now but mostly via other means of installation. I actually have Rom Manager's nandroid restore installed (I flashed it manually via adb) and that much works fine. Hopefully I'll have the entire thing working soon.

    Thanks, Hashi
     
  5. compulsiveguile

    compulsiveguile New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I was having the same problem. I installed TitaniumBackup (which allowed me to install the proper version of BusyBox), and it seemed to fix the problem. ROMmanager was also updated recently (or at least my phone said I needed to update). I just ran it successfully.
     
  6. Erren

    Erren New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There has also been an app by the name of "Busybox" released by Stericson (creator of Metamorph) that installs Busybox. All you need is root to use it. It's available on the Market now. Free and Donate are the same thing, but donate supports the dev obviously.
     
Search tags for this page
fix permissions android terminal
,
fix permissions not found
,
fix permissions not working rom manager
,

rom manager fix permissions

,

rom manager fix permissions an error occurred

,
rom manager fix permissions error occurred
,
rom manager fix permissions not working
,
rom manager fix permissions problem
,
rom toolbox fix permitions
,
terminal emulator fix permissions