Rom manager

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by rivaaaa253, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rom manager won't let me download roms like it'll go into recovery mode and then it'll say download fail... everytime...

    sent from my facinating facinate!
  2. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Honestly its best to download the rom to your SD card then apply the .zip file through recovery. Too many people have issues with rom manager.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So theeeeen how do I download it to my sd??

    sent from my facinating facinate!
  4. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Well 2 ways, you can download it to your PC and transfer it to your phone via USB, or you can download it straight to your phone from the site. Either way work, I prefer to dl straight to my phone (less chance something will get screwed up during transfer).

    Are you using astro file manager? If so you have to go into the settings and enable web downloads to dl straight to your phone.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool thankks man, so after that I just apply update.zip in recovery mode??

    sent from my facinating facinate!
  6. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    No, not update.zip, you will select the .zip from the card. Say your downloading "bobsrom" for your phone. What you will do is move "bobsrom.zip" from your download folder to the root of your SD card using your file manager or USB connection as mass storage. Once its moved boot into recovery and select .zip from the card. Find "bobsrom.zip" and load it up.
    *** "bobsrom" & "bobsrom.zip" are ficticious names and should not be taken literal by anyone ***

    Now make sure you follow all of the installation instructions from the rom developer (ie wipe data and cache before install) or you will end up with some not so fun issues

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no.zip when I boot into recovery via rom manager or manualy...

    sent from my facinating facinate!
  8. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    why do you have red recovery? r u running voodoo?
  9. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    You should be given the option to "install zip from SD card" (that is assuming the facinate uses clockwork recovery as well)

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    true it will show this option but Red CWM recovery is incompatible with Rom Manager and therefore wont install anything initiated by Rom Manager...you have to download whatever ROM, etc you want it put it on the root of your sd card and reboot recovery manually and install zip from sd card/choose zip from sd card and install that way

    or

    flash green clockwork through ODIN instead of red and Rom Manager will work as long as you are not running a VooDoo kernel
  11. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I'm using redd is clockworo green the regular clockwork?? Should green b in the name of the tar file??

    sent from my facinating facinate!
  12. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    but you are not using voodoo correct?

    if not here is the green clockwork .tar you flash in ODIN http://goo.gl/HELdr

    put this on the root of your sd card just in case you have trouble booting into CWM recovery manually you can just apply update.zip
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/458252/Fascinate Files/update.zip
  13. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nooo I'm not running a voodoo kernel but after I get tgis goingg can I run a liquid rom??

    sent from my facinating facinate!
  14. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how long should the clockwork download take thru odin.. in seems to be taking awhileee..
  15. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    should only take 2 min tops to flash the clockwork tar...
    and no Liquid doesnt dev Roms for the Fascinate
  16. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its stopping at zimage, it doesnt say failed or anything its just not loading clockwork after that message on odin.
  17. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    disconnect the phone, restart ODIN, put phone into download mode, put clockwork file in PDA section in ODIN and try again
  18. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    already did... like 3 times...
  19. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    either redownload the clockwork file and/or use a different USB cable
  20. rivaaaa253
    Offline

    rivaaaa253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my fone wont reboot now like theres a little symbol that looks like a phone with a line to a computer and a little triangle with a "!" in the middle...
Similar Threads
  1. dmt316
    Replies:
    206
    Views:
    26,569
  2. upsman92
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    644
  3. Timberwolf
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,058
  4. cowsquad
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    883
  5. mattym320
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,078
Loading...
Search tags for this page

sch 1800 rom download to sd card