ROM manager will not flash clockwork recovery

Discussion in 'Koush' started by drumtrucker, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was using CMR for quite awhile on droid that just replace and never had any serious problems.
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    I have always used clockwork and have never had an issue. I generally don't use rom manager anymore, other than to make a backup every once in a while.
     
  3. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I was on IRC earlier and told Koush about a different problem with ROM Manager wanting to update (according to him invalid) to a new version of clockworkmod and it was failing. He fixed it shortly after. But yea ROM Manager server is Borked again. What is the process to flash clockworkmod without using Rom Manager? I have long forgotten. Maybe that would help the OP.
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,315
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Most issues are with RM, not clockwork anyways. I've switched back and forth depending on how lazy I am. I do like CW for not having to rename stuff. But eh its not too big a deal.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  5. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    I know some rom's have scripts built in to switch recoveries but I don't think there is any other method, atleast not that I am aware of to put CWM on the phone. I could be wrong.
     
  6. Dj Carpenter

    Dj Carpenter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0

    Really? I'm surprised. I constantly hear about people not being able to boot into recovery, etc. I didn't even know Clockwork was a different recovery when I rooted haha. But SPRecovery has always been perfect.
     
  7. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Actually I think a lot of the people that were having issues with clockwork used "easy root" when that was the popular one click root app. I have had some issues with Rom Manager and switching recoveries, nothing major though, sometimes you have to flash the recovery a couple times to get it to stick.
     
  8. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    That's what the OP needs from the sounds of it is to just be able to flash clockworkmod onto the phone manually without using ROM Manager to do it.
     
  9. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yea I have no problems with clockworkmod recovery. It's Koush's Rom Manager server and his link configuration that SUCKS
     
  10. Dj Carpenter

    Dj Carpenter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could be. I still haven't quite figured out the one click root. I've had 3 Droids and not one could one click root. I only tried on the first but the other two were the build that couldn't do that. Glad I couldn't though. How often do you have to flash a recovery?
     
  11. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    I don't really ever switch my recovery because I personally like clockwork but when I first received my replacement droid1 it took me a few times flashing clockwork to get it to stick and I have read numerous threads of people having that same issue.
     
  12. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    OP go to rescuesquad section and ask there how to flash clockworkmod recovery manually without Rom Manager. Your probably just going to get a back and forth debate about spr versus clockworkmod here.
     
Search tags for this page
cwm rom manager server error
,
error while downloading from server
,
error while downloading from server rom manager
,
rom manager does not flash recovery
,

rom manager error flashing recovery

,

rom manager error while downloading from server

,
rom manager flash error
,
rom manager gave download erro
,

rom manager not flashing recovery

,

rom manager will not flash recovery