ROM manager will not flash clockwork recovery

Discussion in 'Koush' started by drumtrucker, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. drumtrucker
    Offline

    drumtrucker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    get error message, also if trying to look at 'all clockwork recoveries' it thinks I am not connected, but I am.

    Tried fixing permissions.

    Is this a good place to post this????
  2. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    what does the error message say?
  3. drumtrucker
    Offline

    drumtrucker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    it thinks I am not connected
  4. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    have you tried rebooting?
  5. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    check that, I am getting the same problem on my phone. It must be an issue with Rom Manager.
  6. drumtrucker
    Offline

    drumtrucker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    I said I tried fixing permissions and I suppose even though it should go without saying... I rebooted after doing so (as suggested every time fixing permission finishes)

    Is there anyway to determine if the server is down? The error for 'flash' says 'error while downloading form server... ...make sure you have stable internet connection...'
    '
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,060
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Could be the server RM uses......give it some time and try again.

    Sent from somewhere...
  8. drumtrucker
    Offline

    drumtrucker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    I want to flash a ROM (backup) image from droid I just got replaced (warranty) onto this new droid. Backup was done with ROM manager if I understand correctly, I need to use CW recovery to restore if I used to backup. Is that right?

    Or, If I get desperate, could I find the file and rename to update.zip and restore with SPR????
  9. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    yeah you could find the folder it's in move it to the root of the sdcard and rename it update.zip BTW it should be in the folder "clockworkmod" then "backup" and find the right backup you are looking for.
  10. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    On a side note, you should try SPRecovery. Problem free for me so far and have had it a while. Takes a few more steps but it's a VERY stable process/method.
  11. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 for SPRecovery!!



    DroidForums junkie!!
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0


    DroidForums junkie!!
  13. drumtrucker
    Offline

    drumtrucker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    I was using CMR for quite awhile on droid that just replace and never had any serious problems.
  14. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    I have always used clockwork and have never had an issue. I generally don't use rom manager anymore, other than to make a backup every once in a while.
  15. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was on IRC earlier and told Koush about a different problem with ROM Manager wanting to update (according to him invalid) to a new version of clockworkmod and it was failing. He fixed it shortly after. But yea ROM Manager server is Borked again. What is the process to flash clockworkmod without using Rom Manager? I have long forgotten. Maybe that would help the OP.
  16. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,060
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Most issues are with RM, not clockwork anyways. I've switched back and forth depending on how lazy I am. I do like CW for not having to rename stuff. But eh its not too big a deal.

    Sent from somewhere...
  17. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    I know some rom's have scripts built in to switch recoveries but I don't think there is any other method, atleast not that I am aware of to put CWM on the phone. I could be wrong.
  18. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas

    Really? I'm surprised. I constantly hear about people not being able to boot into recovery, etc. I didn't even know Clockwork was a different recovery when I rooted haha. But SPRecovery has always been perfect.
  19. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Actually I think a lot of the people that were having issues with clockwork used "easy root" when that was the popular one click root app. I have had some issues with Rom Manager and switching recoveries, nothing major though, sometimes you have to flash the recovery a couple times to get it to stick.
  20. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what the OP needs from the sounds of it is to just be able to flash clockworkmod onto the phone manually without using ROM Manager to do it.
Search tags for this page
error in rom manager when flashing recovery
,
error while downloading from server
,
error while downloading from server rom manager
,
fehler beim flash rom manager
,
rom manager does not flash recovery
,
rom manager error flash recovery
,

rom manager error flashing recovery

,
rom manager error while downloading from \
,

rom manager error while downloading from server

,
rom manager flash error
,
rom manager gave download erro
,
rom manager not downloading recovery
,

rom manager not flashing recovery

,

rom manager will not flash recovery

,
rom recovery error downloading from server