ROM manager will not flash clockwork recovery

Discussion in 'Koush' started by drumtrucker, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    Ratings:
    +0
    get error message, also if trying to look at 'all clockwork recoveries' it thinks I am not connected, but I am.

    Tried fixing permissions.

    Is this a good place to post this????
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    what does the error message say?
     
  3. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    Ratings:
    +0
    it thinks I am not connected
     
  4. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    have you tried rebooting?
     
  5. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    check that, I am getting the same problem on my phone. It must be an issue with Rom Manager.
     
  6. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    Ratings:
    +0
    I said I tried fixing permissions and I suppose even though it should go without saying... I rebooted after doing so (as suggested every time fixing permission finishes)

    Is there anyway to determine if the server is down? The error for 'flash' says 'error while downloading form server... ...make sure you have stable internet connection...'
    '
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Could be the server RM uses......give it some time and try again.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  8. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to flash a ROM (backup) image from droid I just got replaced (warranty) onto this new droid. Backup was done with ROM manager if I understand correctly, I need to use CW recovery to restore if I used to backup. Is that right?

    Or, If I get desperate, could I find the file and rename to update.zip and restore with SPR????
     
  9. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    yeah you could find the folder it's in move it to the root of the sdcard and rename it update.zip BTW it should be in the folder "clockworkmod" then "backup" and find the right backup you are looking for.
     
  10. Dj Carpenter

    Dj Carpenter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    On a side note, you should try SPRecovery. Problem free for me so far and have had it a while. Takes a few more steps but it's a VERY stable process/method.
     
  11. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    +1 for SPRecovery!!



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  12. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35


    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  13. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was using CMR for quite awhile on droid that just replace and never had any serious problems.
     
  14. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    I have always used clockwork and have never had an issue. I generally don't use rom manager anymore, other than to make a backup every once in a while.
     
  15. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I was on IRC earlier and told Koush about a different problem with ROM Manager wanting to update (according to him invalid) to a new version of clockworkmod and it was failing. He fixed it shortly after. But yea ROM Manager server is Borked again. What is the process to flash clockworkmod without using Rom Manager? I have long forgotten. Maybe that would help the OP.
     
Search tags for this page
error while downloading from server
,
error while downloading from server rom manager
,
rom manager does not flash recovery
,

rom manager error flashing recovery

,

rom manager error while downloading from server

,
rom manager error while flash
,
rom manager flash error
,
rom manager gave download erro
,

rom manager not flashing recovery

,

rom manager will not flash recovery