Rom Manager Q's

Discussion in 'Koush' started by kavancamp, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. kavancamp

    kavancamp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Hoosier State
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I am about two weeks into my Droid Era and rooted yesterday on my ese81. Kinda a rush cause of the risk I guess. I went with Jrummyremix. The new one. I rooted by simply putting SPRecovery on my phone and then downloading the Jrummy remix and changin the name to update.zip. I installed that zip and boom, came with root. This is by far the most simple way to root that I have read about. Anyway, flashed to Clockworkmod, got rom manager and my phone is currently downloading UDv10 as we speak.

    What do I do next???? Still a noob, first time using ROM manager. Do I have to wipe cache in that screen you go to when you hold X to start your phone?? What is the process?

    Thanx to anyone who takes time out of there day to answer my Q's.
     
  2. jtydroid

    jtydroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rom Manager, or "The coolest thing ever to happen to non-techies interested in rooting" will do it all for you. *slips into flame-retardant outfit*

    I just suggest you make nandroid backups (an option you have when your download finishes), and when you install a whole new rom, absolutely clear cache and user data.
     
  3. kavancamp

    kavancamp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Hoosier State
    Ratings:
    +0
    where do you install it from?? Right from phone while on or when you turn it on holding X.
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thread moved to Koush so member can get answers on ROM Manager.
     
  5. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get it from the market, you need the free and paid version. You sure you are rooted correctly? Everything working OK? I didn't know you could do it that simply but it has been MONTHS since I did it last...
     
  6. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,021
    Likes Received:
    5,103
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,678
    I recommend always wiping data and cache when flashing another rom. If you worried about losing apps use an app like titanium backup to backup apps.
     
  7. jtydroid

    jtydroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Though, ROM Manager has a great restore function. It's kindof hidden, but if you wait long enough after flashing a new ROM, it will restore your market apps.

    Or, at least, it used to...
     
  8. kavancamp

    kavancamp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Hoosier State
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah running jrummy right now. Its a new way to do with stock 2.1 I guess. But I have the ninja and everything.. I already have rom manager. My phone is downloading udv10 right now. All I am asking is for someone to tell the next steps to take after its finished to change roms...
     
  9. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use Titanium just in case... however, is this a ROM Manager function? Because I have used other ROMs and noticed this happened once or twice with them..
     
  10. jtydroid

    jtydroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fantastic question, one I don't know the answer to though.
     
  11. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    I thought that was a feature of CyanogenMod, not ROM Manager.
     
  12. jtydroid

    jtydroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really, there's no next step. Once it finishes downloading ROM manager will ask you if you want to A) Backup Current ROM (you do) and B) Clear Cache and Data files (You do)

    It will then reboot and work so much magic your wife/girlfriend may be sawed in half without you noticing.

    I'm rather a fan, if it was subtle or unnoticeable.