ROM Manager Premium & CM7 nightlies. I need advice.

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by JokerSeven, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. JokerSeven
    Offline

    JokerSeven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought this would be the easiest way to apply the nightlies, but now I'm not so sure.

    How can I download and install CM7 nightlies using ROM Manager Premium and not wipe data everytime?

    Once the download is complete a pre-Install window pops up with check boxes asking you to...
    1. Back up existing ROM
    2. Wipe data & cache
    3. Wipe dalvik cache

    But I dont want to wipe data.....not everytime.

    After it downloads I could just reboot into recovery & install from SD card but I can't find where ROM manager places the download.
    How do most for you do it?
    I know I could just dl it to the SD & install from there. I'm trying to get my money's worth out of ROM Manager Premium.
    Please advise.
  2. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    Uncheck wipe data/cache? You really only need to wipe dalvik when flashing an update of the same ROM.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  3. JokerSeven
    Offline

    JokerSeven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I did not know I could get away with wiping delvik only.
  4. Htown315
    Offline

    Htown315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    That's incorrect. You need to wipe cache. Dalvik cache does not need to be wiped. Best bet is to dl and install manually from SD while wiping cache.
  5. tattedupboy
    Offline

    tattedupboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do it manually. After downloading the zip file for the nightly, I place the zip on the root of the micro sd card and then use ROM Manager to boot into clockworkmod recovery. Once in recovery mode, I make a nandroid backup, wipe cache, wipe Dalvik cache, mount system, install zip from SD card, and then reboot. My settings and data, with the exception of my system font and the text in the notication bar, remain intact every time.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  6. JokerSeven
    Offline

    JokerSeven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When installing from SD, do you flash the google apps each time too ?
  7. tattedupboy
    Offline

    tattedupboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. Htown315
    Offline

    Htown315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Ya I leave the gapps zip in my dl folder and flash it right after I flash the rom. No need to move the zips to the root of the SD, I do all my all my flashing right from the dl folder.
  9. pressguy27
    Offline

    pressguy27 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    As long you don't wipe data you don't have to flash gapps after flashing a nightly. You can if you want to but Its not needed.

    Sent from my DROID2 using CM7
  10. Htown315
    Offline

    Htown315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Yup...I only do data when I'm switching between official and unofficial nightlies.
  11. C_BlazE
    Offline

    C_BlazE New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use ROM Manager, I Always download Gapps and the nightly, just wipe dalvik and I have never had a problem. I did wipe cache once and went to a black screen boot. And did not include the gapps and they were gone. and any changes you made to system apps will have to be re done ie pushing the MIUI cam to the system/app folder
  12. droid2drummer
    Offline

    droid2drummer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ga...
    That's right! If you don't wipe data, you do not have to reload gapps...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  13. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    You /can/ wipe data as long as you're not flashing an update or a new ROM.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  14. LtotheBoogie
    Offline

    LtotheBoogie New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    Hello,

    I can't seem to find the nightlies in my ROM Manager Premium. I am now on version 4.4.0.5, but the previous version is not showing the nightlies either.
    Any suggestions?

    Thanks!!
Search tags for this page
can't install rom manager premium
,
cm7 nightly doesn't install rom manager premium
,
cm7 premium license
,
como tener cm 7 premiun
,
descargar rom manager premiun
,
descargar rom manager premiun zip
,

how to install rom manager premium on cm7

,
how to install rom manager premium on cm7 droid x
,
rom manager premium update zip
,

rom manager premium zip

,
rom maneger for cm7
,
rom pre installation premium
,
wipe data and cache rom manager