Rom Manager Issue please help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by HOSTILEkid63, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. HOSTILEkid63

    HOSTILEkid63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, here's the situation Rom Manager claims it is flashing the recovery to Clockwork, when I hit the button to load into Recovery Mode, the phone just boots into the OS. I have searched around and read solutions other people have posted such as flashing back and forth between recoveries and then rebooting. I have tried this method and it hasn't fixed my problem, which is that I can't get into the recovery menu at all. I have been all around the Web looking for solutions to my problem. I've tried manually flashing the recovery with ADB, with no success. I'm sure if anyone has found a good guide that they could recommend, I would gladly give it another shot with ADB. Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I'm gathering you are rooted? Which method did you use to root?
    Has it worked before?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. HOSTILEkid63

    HOSTILEkid63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted originally with the ADB shell, way back in probably March of this year. Originally it used SP Recovery, then when I decided to try out some different roms i used Rom Manager. Using Rom Manager I flashed the recovery to Clockwork, and it worked for the longest time, then all of a sudden it stopped working. I have tried to flash back to SP and RM says the flash works, however as mentioned in the OP it always goes straight to the OS. I have tried booting from recovery through RM and from Power+X still with no success.
     
  4. tommyk2005

    tommyk2005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    you try uninstalling and reinstalling rom mgr? what about busybox is rom mgr allowed?
     
  5. HOSTILEkid63

    HOSTILEkid63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have BusyBox installed, and I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling with no luck :frown:.
     
  6. tommyk2005

    tommyk2005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    my bad meant super user
     
  7. antron007

    antron007 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this happen from time to time. What I do is flash an older clockwork then reflash the latest. I go back 2 or 3 versions. It seems to do the trick for me.


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. HOSTILEkid63

    HOSTILEkid63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks i will give it a try.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Here's what works for me every time:

    1. Flash SPR. Then reflash SPR until you get the notification pop up (saying the installation was successful) very, very quickly (2-5 seconds).

    2. Flash Clockwork. Then reflash CW until you get the notification pop up (saying the installation was successful) very, very quickly (2-5 seconds).

    Good luck.
     
  10. HOSTILEkid63

    HOSTILEkid63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried both methods neither of which worked :frown:.

    I appreciate the effort, anyone else have any ideas?
     
  11. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    are you still rooted?

    su in terminal gives you a #?

    I am having a difficult time with the fact that it just stopped working.
     
  12. HOSTILEkid63

    HOSTILEkid63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes and Yes, although I just typed in su, and it requested my permission again. I'm going to try to reboot into recovery and see if that was the problem.