Rom manager and Cyan 5.0.5.3 Problem

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by masprague, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. masprague

    masprague Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all

    I just bought and installed rom manager after installing the free one. So naturally I installed 5.5. So today there is a market update for rom manager. I installed it and updated clockwork.

    I didn't get any ota update about the new release of 5.5.3. Should I have gotten one? Also is it important to update?

    When I click on check for Rom Updates nothing happens.

    Any ideas???
     
  2. agent42o

    agent42o Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's some minor fixes.

    CHANGELOG at eclair from cyanogen's android_vendor_cyanogen - GitHub

    From the Changelog:

     
  3. masprague

    masprague Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any ideas whats going on with my Rom Manager?

    Thanks
     
  4. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would suggest that you do a restart, check for another update, and then maybe uninstall Rom Manager and reinstall.
     
  5. masprague

    masprague Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I unstall the paid and free RM...Rebooted...reinstalled..

    Nothing when I check to see if I have updates.

    I went in and manually downloaded 5.0.5.3 and installed it through RM and clockwork.

    Now when I go to check for updates it tells me there is none....

    Dang.....it's sorta fixed but not really I guess....
     
  6. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is working just fine, since 5.0.5.3 is the newest update. Hence the no updates.
     
  7. masprague

    masprague Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, but I had to manually update it..It didnt tell me that 5.0.5.3 was up.

    After i went through and did it so yes its right, but its only working correctly right now...

    Oh well....I'll wait to see what happens when a new update is posted.

    thanks for you help.....here's hoping its working now...
     
  8. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think it is set yet to notify you when a new update is available. I had to manually check last night and that is when I noticed that 5.0.5.3 was available. Anyway, glad to see if sort of worked and that you were able to get the rom up and going.
     
  9. agent42o

    agent42o Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing, wasn't a big deal, we'll see what happens with the next update.
     
  10. koush

    koush Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi! Great question! OTA updates need to ALSO be enabled in the ROM. 5.0.5.3 is the first version of CyanogenMod that supports OTA updates. I didn't have OTA updates written in ROM Manager until 5.0.5.2. So when 5.0.5.4 rolls around, you'll see a notification on your phone that an update is available (around midnight ;)).

    Koush
     
  11. bigben

    bigben New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like the concept but...

    I downloaded and installed free rom manager. Like the concept so I purchased the premium version.

    Since I have tried to use Blackdroid's Ultimate customizer and the download starts then stops.

    Thought oh well and tried to download Bugless Ver .9. Download started and stop again.

    I read through this thread - did the things that seemed relative (uninstall, reboot, reinstall, reboot) and it didn't help.

    I am outside the 24 hour period so the $3.99 refund is gone.

    I'd appreciate some help please.

    Thanks

    PS not a noobie, just a noobie on Droids. So I'll get the technical response - again - thanks
     
  12. koush

    koush Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blackdroids download site is a little slow. I'd also make sure you are on Wifi.
     
Search tags for this page

you must update rom manager to the latest version

,

you must upgrade your rom manager