Rom manager and Cyan 5.0.5.3 Problem

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by masprague, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all

    I just bought and installed rom manager after installing the free one. So naturally I installed 5.5. So today there is a market update for rom manager. I installed it and updated clockwork.

    I didn't get any ota update about the new release of 5.5.3. Should I have gotten one? Also is it important to update?

    When I click on check for Rom Updates nothing happens.

    Any ideas???
  2. agent42o
    Offline

    agent42o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    It's some minor fixes.

    CHANGELOG at eclair from cyanogen's android_vendor_cyanogen - GitHub

    From the Changelog:

  3. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any ideas whats going on with my Rom Manager?

    Thanks
  4. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I would suggest that you do a restart, check for another update, and then maybe uninstall Rom Manager and reinstall.
  5. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I unstall the paid and free RM...Rebooted...reinstalled..

    Nothing when I check to see if I have updates.

    I went in and manually downloaded 5.0.5.3 and installed it through RM and clockwork.

    Now when I go to check for updates it tells me there is none....

    Dang.....it's sorta fixed but not really I guess....
  6. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    It is working just fine, since 5.0.5.3 is the newest update. Hence the no updates.
  7. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right, but I had to manually update it..It didnt tell me that 5.0.5.3 was up.

    After i went through and did it so yes its right, but its only working correctly right now...

    Oh well....I'll wait to see what happens when a new update is posted.

    thanks for you help.....here's hoping its working now...
  8. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I don't think it is set yet to notify you when a new update is available. I had to manually check last night and that is when I noticed that 5.0.5.3 was available. Anyway, glad to see if sort of worked and that you were able to get the rom up and going.
  9. agent42o
    Offline

    agent42o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Same thing, wasn't a big deal, we'll see what happens with the next update.
  10. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi! Great question! OTA updates need to ALSO be enabled in the ROM. 5.0.5.3 is the first version of CyanogenMod that supports OTA updates. I didn't have OTA updates written in ROM Manager until 5.0.5.2. So when 5.0.5.4 rolls around, you'll see a notification on your phone that an update is available (around midnight ;)).

    Koush
  11. bigben
    Offline

    bigben New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like the concept but...

    I downloaded and installed free rom manager. Like the concept so I purchased the premium version.

    Since I have tried to use Blackdroid's Ultimate customizer and the download starts then stops.

    Thought oh well and tried to download Bugless Ver .9. Download started and stop again.

    I read through this thread - did the things that seemed relative (uninstall, reboot, reinstall, reboot) and it didn't help.

    I am outside the 24 hour period so the $3.99 refund is gone.

    I'd appreciate some help please.

    Thanks

    PS not a noobie, just a noobie on Droids. So I'll get the technical response - again - thanks
  12. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Blackdroids download site is a little slow. I'd also make sure you are on Wifi.
  13. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks Koush! I'm glad to finally get a solid answer. Look forward to all your hard work in the future. Im a CyanogenMod man, but I cant help but look at all these other roms popping up on the RM. Ultimate Droid and Bugless, what's next?

    Thanks
  14. halo32008
    Offline

    halo32008 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey koush im trying the new update and everytime i hit flash clockworkmod recovery it an error..

    An error ocurred while attempting to run privileged commands? it wont let me do anything else in the rom manager with out hitting it im stuck anyone else get this error is there away i got manually instal the new cyanogen rom threw clockwork recovery if so how?
    thank you i love your work
  15. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What ROM are you currently on? You can always manually flash clockworkmod recovery, and then use the flash override option in the menu to override it. Then just install.

    Or use the standard boot into recovery method and apply the zips manually from your SD card.
  16. halo32008
    Offline

    halo32008 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using UD v.8 right now and I just tried overide threw thr rom manager. I downloaded the cyanogen file put it on the root of my sd . Then I went to rom manager n try to install it from there and everytime I clicked on the file and checked whipe cache and okay .. it froze for a sec and does nothing else ? I'm stuck again lol
  17. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had problems as well coming from smoked glass 6.0.1...ROM always froze on install.

    Fortunately, I had virgin nandroid backup with su...when I reverted to that backup and ran ROM Manager it was fast and easy. I am just guessing...but could it be an issue with loading Koush's ROM over an ESE53 based ROM?
  18. pdagadget
    Offline

    pdagadget New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ROM Manager

    I have ROM Manager and tried twice installing a ROM. Both times the device starts to bot the ROM but then gets stuck in a loop. I have a Motorola Droid. Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
  19. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should generally wipe data between ROMs.
  20. balaams_ass
    Offline

    balaams_ass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CNY
    hmmm "You must upgrade your ROM Manager to the latest version"

    I have three times now, gotten the Succesfully flashed ClockworkMod Recovery! and rebooted as well.

    Do I have to download the newest from the Market or can I do it from the Rom Manager itself ?
Search tags for this page

you must update rom manager to the latest version

,

you must upgrade your rom manager