{ROM} Gingerbread-ReBakedv2!

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by es0tericcha0s, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. regkilla
    Offline

    regkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bay area, California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Good thing i downloaded it right away.
     
  2. es0tericcha0s
    Offline

    es0tericcha0s Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Give me 5 minutes...

    Oh, and someone asked about USB tethering. I only have EasyTether installed right now and it works fine. :)
    GTalk works for me as well...

    Updated link in OP and here: http://www.multiupload.com/NJQ8YLY0D8
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  3. neubanks89
    Offline

    neubanks89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well, no luck on the USB. It is good to see that the camera was a quick fix though. Also, I noticed that the gps doesn't seem to be working. That's what's causing the browser (google's mobile page makes a gps request to the location provider) and maps to force close.
     
  4. es0tericcha0s
    Offline

    es0tericcha0s Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for giving it a shot though!


    I'm clueless about the Maps after all. LoL
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  5. neubanks89
    Offline

    neubanks89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just did a repo sync and added in the camera and media libraries to the vendor setup. This new build should have all that cleared up. As far the USB is concerned I'm kind of stuck as to what's going on with it, I'm pretty sure it's not a missing library, I haven't looked into the source where USB Mass Storage is handled but someone more familiar with Android would be a great help. I'm just a applications software engineer that can work with code, thats the only reason I can get the thing to build and boot, as far as making drivers and modules work with the droid specifically, not too familiar with that.
     
  6. BigMace23
    Offline

    BigMace23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It"s Gingerbread!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks a lot for this rom, and while I will wait for the custom gingerbread roms before I use it as a daily driver, this gives us a great preview. Its faster than froyo and the animations look great. However I guess the screen off animation was taken out?
     
  7. neubanks89
    Offline

    neubanks89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I haven't been able to find the screen off animation nor the code that manages it in the source yet. Might be a good idea to look at the system dumps from these aosp roms and the nexus s one to see if we can find it.
     
  8. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure what is causing it,but I loaded up the rom. Signed in and started downloading apps,but after about 10 mins I noticed it was hung up and I got the network failur error. I seem to lose 3g on all of these roms ?
     
  9. y0rk
    Offline

    y0rk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wanted to say thanx for putting all this together.

    Installed the Rom from CW followed immediately by Chevy's kernel, no wipe and it seems to be good so far.
    Camera is working,
    maps works as far as cell tower triangulation,
    market is working,
    google accounts are syncing,
    music (mp3) and video (mp4) playback is solid.
    USB connection charges phone and has ADB access.



    Keep up the great work, time to start theming :)
     
  10. es0tericcha0s
    Offline

    es0tericcha0s Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems like that animation would be in /system/customize/resource, which we don't have...
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  11. Shachren
    Offline

    Shachren Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm gonna test it right now. Does the usual procedure apply for adding live wallpapers and things like that? Also, if the auto-correct isn't working, i still have fab's keyboard if you guys want to bake it in.
     
  12. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    So do we know what libs correspond to the accelerometer?

    EDIT: I guess I'll just look lol. That does seem like a lot of work though
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  13. jamezelle
    Offline

    jamezelle Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    is the init.rc using /system/bin/akmd2 ?

    that bin handles our accelerometer
     
  14. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spoke too soon about the accelerometor. Its working fine now. Nice work

    Sent from my Full Android using DroidForums App
     
  15. Shachren
    Offline

    Shachren Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, loaded up the rom, gonna start trying to reload all my apps. Interestingly, the new android market did not come through, and where it would usually say "3G" it only says "G" now. Any fixes for these?