1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rolling New Update?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by wilboy, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. terrets
    Offline

    terrets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What a lame update. Itll be nice if my phone doesnt lockup ever with this update. Way to be on top of things!

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    If your phone is locking up on you, then you're having an issue.

    If you want help, we can probably give you some assistance. Or you can put up with it and just complain. Droid doesn't do lock ups so you are probably running something that isn't getting along well, like an antivirus or task killer.
  4. terrets
    Offline

    terrets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not running either. Im also very careful about apps I download. Im a bit paranoid lol. Im just having troubles once in a while while charging. I do have a question though. When in usb debug mode, is the phone suppose to be not usable while plugged in? When I would disconnect it, it would stay unusable with the screen on and I have to take out the battery.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  5. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you plug your cell to USB,your sdcard will be unusable on default.You have 3 choices..PC Mode-USB Mass Storage and Charge only.
  6. terrets
    Offline

    terrets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya I already understand the sdcard becomes unusable. My whole phone freezes with the screen on. Only thing that works is power button but all it does is turn the screen on or off.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  7. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where you at(ie:M logo-wall screen) when your phone freezes?
  8. terrets
    Offline

    terrets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any screen. Usually home. It happens when I have the phone set for usb debug mode and I plug it into my pc.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  9. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would suggest,send it back to VZW and ask for the swap....It's hard to suggest something that it may bricked your phone unless we have a SBF.Got what i mean?

    PS..but b4 my suggestion,try to unmount your sdcard and put it back on.See what will happen....or try the Fission ROM?!!
  10. terrets
    Offline

    terrets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have totally ignored the problem. lol.

    I just installed the fission rom and am restoring all my apps and data :D
  11. leobg
    Online

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So it is not locking up with Fission now?
  12. terrets
    Offline

    terrets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know. I have not tried connecting it to my computer with USB debug mode enabled yet. Ill try it in a few and get back to you. Once Im done restoring data.
  13. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice to hear that man!And welcome back! :)
  14. terrets
    Offline

    terrets New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It still does lock up. I think thats one of the features of debug mode...I no longer have to pull the battery to get it working though :D.
  15. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems to me that you have some apps. or configuration that needs to be fix...go figure!:) :D
    Oh yeah,one more thing..have you tried the FACTORY DATA RESET?


    Here"s mine!
  16. zamdrang
    Offline

    zamdrang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having the same issue but no particular when or why. Just freezes and same as above on the power button. The last time nothing would respond had to pull the battery. First smart phone. Had it a day.
  17. tebower
    Offline

    tebower New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have to corroborate this issue. Not that it'll help or anything. I have the exact same symptoms, leading to a battery pull in order to reboot. Here's hoping that if we are experiencing it, so are the folks at Moto.