RIP droid 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by nickb1, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. nickb1

    nickb1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive had it since it came out but it looks like this is the end.

    After hours and hours of attempting to repair my trigger happy deleting finger to get the update, it looks like it fried.

    Its no longer responsive, and gets extremely hot within 5 minutes of being on. I cant do anything. It looks like i will be taking it in tomorrow.
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you can still get to the Moto logo at boot, then you can flash it with RSDLite back to stock.
     
  3. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Exactly! I'm assuming that you can since you mentioned it being on..?



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  4. nickb1

    nickb1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is stock. How would i get rsd lite?
     
  5. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
  6. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    It looks more intimidating than it actually is -- all you're doing is a firmware flash, like you might any other device. It will restore you to a new-in-box software state with the most recent version for the D2.

    Sorry for the double post, I'm 5 drinks deep and had a long day at work.
     
  7. CellZealot

    CellZealot Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  8. nickb1

    nickb1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks i will try, my phone was fine before i did a factory reset then it got all weird? I wonder what caused it?
     
  9. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,589
    Likes Received:
    5,560
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,160

    Maybe I am missing something but if you said that it is stock and is not rooted then it could be hardware related, I would get a replacement.
     
  10. nickb1

    nickb1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stock rom, it is rooted. I didn't do anything that would of caused this, just took it out of my pocket and was unresponsive, started force closing, then rebooting to the droid eye (never went to the M).
     
  11. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,589
    Likes Received:
    5,560
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,160
    oh ok, my bad....
     
  12. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    It could still be hardware. If you have the time, I say try an SBF restore, see what happens, and then go from there.

    I'm actually about to do the exact same thing since the OTA update hates me.
     
Search tags for this page
rip droid
,

ripdroid