1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Ringtone (media/ringtone) Not Appearing

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by IcyDroid, May 25, 2013.

  1. IcyDroid
    Offline

    IcyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I have had no issue with this on the original Motorola Droid but no matter what folders I had the custom ringtones I made using Audacity they will not show up on my phone. Did the media/ringtone, media/alarm, media/notifications as I did a long time ago but for some reason now it isn't working. I want to say that wasn't an issue with GB but ICS and now JB it isn't working...but who knows.

    Is there a new method that I can't find to get them to show up? All I see are the stupid stock ones, plus the custom ones I had ages ago.
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    458
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Have you tried restarting the phone?
  3. IcyDroid
    Offline

    IcyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Yeah I sure did, about 5 times. So far I've come to the conclusion that the only way to get it to work is to have a third party app that can assign/force the main ringtone. I downloaded the app 'Ringtone Maker' and so far that has allowed me to assign the ringtone. Ironically, it made the ringtone that I added show up on the master list.

    Strange though, that I had to use an app to force this. I'd try a data wipe/clean restore on the phone but don't think that this is a serious enough issue for it...just frustrating nonetheless.

    Thanks for the reply!
  4. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    458
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    I've never had to use a 3rd party app either. If it helps, this is how I did it in my Original Droid & this Galaxy Nexus. Here's a screenshot of my sd
    [​IMG]

    Edit: Here's another view. Different file explorer, different file path
    [​IMG]


    Tapped from a Nexus
    Last edited: May 26, 2013
  5. IcyDroid
    Offline

    IcyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Thanks for the screenshots :happy3: I'll try and reorganize the internal and SD storage later today if I get a chance and see what happens. I may have to do a FDR based on some other issues I'm having, and that may do some good.
Search tags for this page
android custom ringtones not showing up
,

android ringtones not showing up

,
custom ringtones not showing up android
,
downloaded ringtone not showing up on droid
,
downloaded ringtones media storage
,

downloaded ringtones not showing up on android

,
downloaded ringtones not showing up on droid
,
gs3 ringtones not showing up in folder
,
my custom android ringtones not showing in folder
,
ringtone not showing up android
,
ringtones not showing droid 4
,
ringtones not showing up android
,
ringtones not showing up on android
,
s3 not showing up media files
,
why dont all ringtones show up on my galaxy s3