Ringtone Issues

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by JoeyUnity, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. JoeyUnity
    Offline

    JoeyUnity New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have noticed that the Droid X kinda does its own thing when it comes to assigned ring tones. Sometimes the ring tone you assign an individual actually rings when they call and other times it does not.

    I have over time been downloading ring tones from Zedge and a couple other sites. Today all of my downloaded ring tones stopped working and defaulted to some random ringer. ALL OF THEM. They all now sound the same.

    Anyone else have this happen? Any fixes? This is quite annoying.
  2. JoeyUnity
    Offline

    JoeyUnity New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I power cycled the phone and it seemed to fix the issue. Hopefully for a while.
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    A word of advice. Instead of downloading ringtones just get Ringdroid from the Market and create your own custom ringtone. Some of these places that sell ringtones on the web seem to make issues for the Droid.
  4. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,437
    Likes Received:
    493
    Trophy Points:
    83
    The Zedge app didn't play nice with my Inc, had to uninstall it. I've gotten a few tones from their website with no issue but the app made my phone do what yours is doing until I uninstalled it

    wified from a monolith using a slider
  5. tracylfarr
    Offline

    tracylfarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, Pa
    My phone will only vibrate when it rings now. I thought since you said the Zedge app messes with your phone it was with mine so I uninstalled it and I am still having the same issue. I have the ring tone turned up and vibration off. Any suggestions?

    From Tracy, sent from my Droid X
  6. antennaman
    Offline

    antennaman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your ring tones are on your SD card & it is "busy" a default tone will sound.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. tracylfarr
    Offline

    tracylfarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, Pa
    I am not what you mean. I don't even get a ring tone at all. Just vibration. My alert sound works fine. I am sure they are saving to SD card but not sure how to check.

    From Tracy, sent from my Droid X
  8. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is how you fix: you can move your mp3 ringtones from /sdcard/media/audio/ringtones to /dev/system/media/audio/ringtones.
    Open terminal
    Su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 777 /system
    cp /sdcard/media/audio/ringtones/filename.mp3 /dev/system/media/audio/ringtones
    Reboot
    This will move the mp3 you specify on your sdcard to phone memory and stop the annoying random ringtone. Obviously you must be rooted for this to work.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  9. stealthgriffin
    Offline

    stealthgriffin New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Removing Zedge very likely removed the ringtones that your phone was referencing, or at last removed the association to those ringtones. You will need to reassign them.

    As for the phone randomly using a default tone, its because they are on your sdcard and as mentioned above, if your sdcard is busy it goes to default. The only way to avoid this is to be rooted and move the files to your phone memory.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. mizlplix
    Offline

    mizlplix New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    American Southwest
    NO ringtones here... updated to Froyo when unrooted, ALL ringtones stopped working. I have no purchased ringtone apps on the phone.

    OK, then I rooted. Still no ringtones at all.

    When I have set to caller ID, I get voice saying name and vibrate.
    When set to vibrate and ring, it only vibrates.
    I have some custom ringers on special PPL and they dont ring/ only vibrate.

    Phone randomly locks up once to twice per week requiring battery removal/reboot.

    Yea, I'm gonna try all of the above, but I have no real confidence it will make any difference.

    QUESTION: I'm rooted. Can I do a factory reset or do I unroot first then reroot after? OR do I just factory reset?


    Aint life grand?
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  11. tracylfarr
    Offline

    tracylfarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, Pa
    After removing Zegde I did reassign my ring tones. When someone calls it does not even go to a default ring tone. Just vibrates. I'm not rooted either. I'll try moving tones to phone instead of sd card and see if that works.

    From Tracy, sent from my Droid X
  12. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Tracyl, This may sound silly, but make sure your sound is turned on. At the lock screen make sure you slide the right slider to check if the sound is turned on and not set to vibrate. Next thing you should check is in settings - sounds - volume - make sure the volume sliders are turned up. If that doesn't work if it was mine I wouuld try a factory reset. That is probably what Verizon would tell you from the get go.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  13. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't think that a factory reset will unroot your phone. Achieving root gives you access to the system that yoiu wouldn't normally have access to. So I am pretty sure that a factory reset only deletes user installed apps and settings. If your rom or system has been screwed up by some mod that you installed, you may have to bring it in to Verizon or risk the perilous method of reflashing the locked down droidx. For any that don't know, the droidx has a efuse chip that will brick your phone if you try and flash an unsigned rom.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  14. tracylfarr
    Offline

    tracylfarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, Pa
    Joeshell20,

    I don't think it is silly at all. I double checked everything again and sound is on an up. I can hear everything else on my cell. Texts, clicks on the screen....just when someone calls me it vibrates. It is probaboly something so simple but I can't figure it out. I would hate to do a factory reset....I have so much on my cell. I keep my bank account check balance and bills on my cell. I will lose that all then, won't I since they are apps....thanks got the help!
  15. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had a similar problem with my lg ally a few months ago. Big red just sent me another one.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  16. mizlplix
    Offline

    mizlplix New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    American Southwest
    Yah. I checked to make sure the sound was turned on...lol (laughing because ive done similar things in the past).

    I get by by having caller id on repeat..annoying but at least i can hear calls.

    Yah ill try a reset.
  17. mizlplix
    Offline

    mizlplix New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    American Southwest
    Update

    Update....to no ringtones...only vibrate and caller id...




    It will turn on and off caller id, also the id repeat mode.

    BUT. The vibrate stays on no matter what i set it at...even off....

    It seems stuck on vibrate. And no ringer sounds.

    Im doing a system reset atm.

    More after...
  18. tracylfarr
    Offline

    tracylfarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, Pa
    Mine is the same but I sooooo don't want to do a reset. Someone has to know how to fix this! Uuggghhh...lol.

    From Tracy, sent from my Droid X
  19. mizlplix
    Offline

    mizlplix New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    American Southwest
    Yahoo!!!!

    Did the reset. Did the backup/restore to get my contacts back.

    Still.rooted ok. Reinstalled.my apps. All standard ringtones work. No ringtone addons or apps installed AThere is an Android god afterall.....have not turned on the vibrate yet though....
  20. tracylfarr
    Offline

    tracylfarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, Pa
    rod1025 has the answer to this posted in another section. It worked for a lot of us. If you can't find it let me know and I'll copy and paste it here for you.

    From Tracy, sent from my Droid X