Ringtone Help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by air2548, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. air2548

    air2548 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need some help trouble shooting my phone. One day all of a sudden the ringtones stopped and it just went to vibrate every time I get an incoming phone call. All other sounds still come out I have checked every setting that I can think of. I don't know if there is a secret button or not that sets it to vibrate all the time.
     
  2. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you tried turning your device off, then on to reset it?
     
  3. Juicemane

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4
    ^ step one.

    Also, are you running any apps for ringtones? I.E. Zedge/Ringdroid? Is it a stock ringtone or?
     
  4. air2548

    air2548 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep have tried shutting off several times, battery pulls. It started when I had 2.1 and continued to the 2.2 update. It started as soon as I put on the Seidio Innocase on but I have tried taking that off and the problem persists. Seems very odd to me.
     
  5. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmm, maybe when you put the case on, it jammed one of your volume buttons in, like the down volume button? That would set the phone to vibrate.
     
  6. air2548

    air2548 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah except that my other notification sounds work and the media works, just not the incoming calls. I checked all volume settings and other things such as set to vibrate when turned face down type of stuff and they are all set to work. When I go in to change the ringtone I can hear it, it just aint working thats all.
     
  7. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, you could Factory Data Reset the phone as a last resort.
     
  8. bgillyjcu

    bgillyjcu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya my ringtones don't play for the right people anymore...WTF!
     
  9. LadyPhoenix

    LadyPhoenix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    i had this problem a few weeks back
    chk under
    ' settings'
    ' sound'
    scroll down to 'smart sensor settings'
    - UNcheck "double-tap to silence" & "smart profile;face down"
    reboot phn by taking out battery & then see if you ring tones work

    other members told me this is a known issue
    w the DX so no to use these 2 settings for now.

    If abv does not work, you may have to get a new phn fr VZ ( i had to get one)
    it sucks, but at least it will work now that you know not to use these settings

    hope this helps :motdroidvert:
     
  10. agreco60

    agreco60 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This just happened to me...sort of. After the 2.2 update my ringtones stopped working. My phone would ring but only with the same sound of when you unplug the USB from my computer. The weird thing is that is not a ringtone in the Android ringtones. I narrowed it down to "Astro" Removed it and reset my ringtones with "Extended Rings"...It is okay now...
     
Search tags for this page

droid3 ringtone help

,

motorola droid ringtone help