Ringer delay fix

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by intenselyinsane, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. intenselyinsane
    Offline

    intenselyinsane New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got tired of my phone starting to ring on the second or third ring so I decided to look into it. I hear that this is a common problem and some say Verizon can fix it if you get lucky. I found another way. Wonder if others can confirm this working also.


    Copy /system/build.prop

    relame to build.prop.txt and open in notepad

    remove this line
    ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=3000

    rename back to build.prop

    adb shell

    su

    mount -o remount,rw /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system

    adb push build.prop /system/
     
  2. dork5002002
    Offline

    dork5002002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This seems pretty interesting. I can't currently try it, but I hope some others are able to use this and tell of the results.
     
  3. intenselyinsane
    Offline

    intenselyinsane New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine now starts ringing inbetween the first and second ring.
     
  4. voydas
    Offline

    voydas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds interesting... will do tomorrow and report on the results.
     
  5. Nissan1973
    Offline

    Nissan1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome find! My droid now rings pretty much on the first vibrate

    I use Root Explorer to set r/w permission to build.prop then use ASTRO for the file editor, save changes and your done.

    I set mine to ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=1
     
  6. messenger13
    Offline

    messenger13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's the same file that you need to edit when enabling JIT. I just put "# " in front of the line to comment it. Easier to undo that way. ;)

    By the way ... I do recall this being discussed in another forum and there seemed to be a consensus that you will experience less battery time if you get a lot of phone calls. Don't know if that's valid, don't really care. Just thought I'd throw it out there...
     
  7. Larkitect
    Offline

    Larkitect Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    this has been bugging me, too. thanks for posting this. seems to be working fine. i #'d it like messenger13 suggested.
     
  8. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine already says ro.telephoney.call_ring.delay=1000 just flashed this rom today though so no clue, will test as is
     
  9. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, Liquid changes his to 1000 in all his roms. i do still get the delay sometimes though
     
  10. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    this would also be an easier fix... using terminal emulator just type

    sed -i 's/ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=3000/ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=1000/g' /system/build.prop

    or make it into a script....
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    VARIABLE=ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=3000
    
    sed -i 's/$VARIABLE/ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=1000/g' /system/build.prop
    
    then just edit the variable to what ever your roms default is
     
  11. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    changed mine to 500, gonna see how that works
     
  12. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you change it too low then some times the phone wont be able to find the ringtone in time so it will just default to the original one.... which isn't a problem if you only use vibrate
     
  13. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    im testing different numbers to find the best one
     
  14. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you use a ring tone it would be about 1000... if you only use vibrate then 0 is fine..
     
  15. circsmonky
    Offline

    circsmonky Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i use a ringer, havnt tested yet. about to
     
Search tags for this page
android delay ringtone
,
android delayed ringtone
,
android phone ring delay
,

android ring delay

,
android ring delay fix
,
call ring delay android
,
phone ring delay
,

ring delay android

,
ringtone delay android
,
telephone ringer delay