Ring Tone Mess Up

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by thcri, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. thcri
    Offline

    thcri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Ring tone that I have used for some time. Today I got a new Droid X to replace my two month old one. I am struggling to get the phone to see the ring tone for the phone. Funny thing when I set the ringtone for Notifications it finds the ringtone. If I go to files, I see the ringtone and I long press on it but only have the option to share, delete or move. I can't set it as ringtone.

    any suggestions. I hope I never have to get a new phone to go through all the problems I am having again.
  2. Scubamike
    Offline

    Scubamike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Answer (?) and question

    My friend had an issue with not seeing certain ring tones. The only pattern I can see among the ringers that don't work is that they are larger files, 450k plus. I am not saying this is why, but you could experiment by triming them and testing.

    Here is my ringer-related question: Does anyone else have the wrong ring tones play when someone calls? This typically only happens with my custom ring tones for certain contacts and maybe 50% of the time or less. Any solutions?
  3. thcri
    Offline

    thcri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is that I don't see the ring tone at all, as I see it under Notifications but not under the phone ringtone.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. musicman
    Offline

    musicman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might want to try using ringdroid. It may let you assign it as a ringtone thru that.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. thcri
    Offline

    thcri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems weird that I would have to get an application to make something that should work-work?
  6. tatuud
    Offline

    tatuud New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to your sd card...make a folder called ringtones, make a copy of the mp3 you want and drop it in the new ringtone folder, reboot phone, that mp3 should now be a ringtone option

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. thcri
    Offline

    thcri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well thanks but that did not do the trick. I guess the best thing to do is just download the program as stated earlier and see if that will do it.
  8. tatuud
    Offline

    tatuud New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok try putting the ringtone file in ur media file...reboot. its weird but different locations on ur sd card will and wont work for ringtones. My rooted phone on a rom needs to have it in media...my friends rooted phone but no rom can have it just on sd card and my other friends stock one has it in media/audio/ringtones. Its weird but play around with location of ringtone folder within sd card till it reads it. I have to do that when I change roms but I can promise u it works...I have like 50 ringtones/notifications and they always work...separate folders but they always work

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  9. thcri
    Offline

    thcri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks much, that did the trick. After rebooting it did not find it right away so after looking at other directories I could put it in and finding none I went back and then it found it. Maybe the first time after creating the Ringtones Directory if I waited some it would have found it. None the less it is working and I thank you much.
  10. tatuud
    Offline

    tatuud New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad it finally worked for you.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

ringtones are messed up all the sudden on droid bionic